University of Canberra : Australia's Capital University
Skip to main content

Open Access Toolkit

Open Access - connecting ideas and hunches (video)

Glossary

Accepted manuscript/version 

This is the manuscript version of a scholarly output accepted for publication following peer review and revision. An accepted manuscript or an accepted version can also be called a post-print.

AOASG - Australian Open Access Support Group

The AOSAG supports and advocates for OA in Australia. It works to increase awareness of OA in Australia and provides an Australian voice to interact with international OA support groups. It is supported by several member tertiary educational institutions within Australia.

Archiving/self-archiving

Depositing a digital copy of a document in an institutional repository in order to provide open access and long term digital preservation to a scholarly output.

Article Process Charge (APC)

The fee paid to the publisher to make an article free at point of access. Whilst Open Access principles promote free availability of research and scholarly output, research papers are not cost free to produce. The cost of publication is moved from the reader (via subscriptions and pay-walls) to the author (via the APC). Not all Open Access publishers charge and APC.

Author Addenda

Author addenda state the rights that the author will retain after passing an article to a publisher for publication. Addenda vary considerably, so care must be taken to choose an addendum that suits the author (or institution) in each particular case. SPARC (a US organisation) provides information on how to apply these.

Creative Commons

This is an internationally recognised licensing scheme which permits the sharing, reuse, repurpose and remix of creative material whilst also ensuring that creators retain the right to attribution as a minimum.

Delayed Open Access

This is when a scholarly output is accessible on open access after an embargo period set by the publisher has elapsed. Embargos can vary from a few months to many years depending on the publisher and discipline.

Embargoes

Some publishers have a restriction on when an author version of an article is allowed to be deposited in a repository. This can vary from 6 months to 2 years after publication. Any embargo period is usually listed in the copyright agreement (or can be found on SHERPA-RoMEO). Sometimes the publisher's embargo conflicts with a funder's requirement, so check this before you publish.

Green Open Access Publishing

This is where archiving of open access versions of a non-open access scholarly output is allowed (such as the pre-print or post-print) or the published version is made available after an embargo period set by the publisher.

Gold Open Access Publishing

This is when the scholarly output is 'born OA' and available under open access from the moment of publication. This is usually in an open access journal where typically copyright remains with the author. Many release content under a Creative Commons or similar licence.

Hybrid Open Access

Some journals are purely open access, but others offer a 'hybrid' model where subscriptions are still required for access to content, but a fee can be paid to make individual articles available open access immediately on publication. Publishers do not generally reduce subscription fees despite the inclusion of paid open access content - this is described as journal publishers "double dipping".

Mandate - Open Access

The requirement that a research publication be made open access either by publishing in an Open Access publication or by depositing the final, peer-reviewed draft in an open access institutional repository. Increasing being applied by (but not limited to) funding bodies and educational institutions that support research with public funds.

Metadata

Data that describes other data. For items in open access repositories, this usually consists of a full bibliographic reference, abstract, keywords, and similar information.

OAI

Open Archives Initiative - The Open Archives Initiative develops and promotes interoperability standards that aim to facilitate the efficient dissemination of content. OAI has its roots in the open access and institutional repository movements. www.openarchives.org

OAI-PMH

The standard protocol for harvesting metadata from OA repositories.

Open Access (OA)

Free and unrestricted online access to the outputs of publically funded research so that research literature can be used without licensing restrictions for research, teaching or other purposes.

Pre-print

This is the author's manuscript version of an academic article or other publication that is submitted to the publisher before peer review.

Post-print

This is the author's final version of an academic article or other publication - after it has been peer-reviewed and revised into its final form by the author. A post-print can also be called an accepted manuscript or an accepted version. Postprints are not the pdfs produced by the publishers, but may be a Word document or pdf produced by the author. Since additional changes may occur during the proofing process, postprints are not considered "the version of record".

Proof

This is the final version of a scholarly output. It is the version just before publication with the journal formatting applied. A proof is considered a publisher's (not an author's) version of the work.

Refereed

This means papers or articles that satisfy external or peer review requirements of the scholarly journal or conference proceedings prior to publication.

Repository

A website that aims to collect, preserve and proffer electronically the intellectual output of a subject or organisation without charge.

Research outputs

Sometimes called scholarly outputs, these are articles, papers, books and chapters written by researchers and scholars in their discipline. They are often peer-reviewed.

Scholarly outputs

Sometimes called research outputs, these are articles, papers, books and chapters written by researchers and scholars in their discipline. They are often peer-reviewed.

Self-archiving 

The act of an academic author depositing the metadata and electronic full text of their publication in an Open Access repository.

SHERPA/JULIET

A database of research funders' policies on open access. This is a collaboratively maintained service and a good starting point, however you should always refer to the agreement for your research project.

SHERPA/RoMEO

A database of publisher policies on copyright and self archiving. This is a collaboratively maintained service and a good starting point, however you should always refer to the publisher's agreement or website for current information.

UC Research Repository

This is the University of Canberra's digital institutional repository. The repository includes metadata, publications and other scholarly outputs.

Wellcome Trust

The world's largest medical research charity funding research into human and animal health www.wellcome.ac.uk