Statistics: Key Resources

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is the government agency responsible for the collection of statistics within Australia. They collect, collate, analyse and report on data from surveys, government agencies, the Census of Population and Housing, and other official bodies.

The ABS collects and makes available data on topics including people, health, the economy, the environment, labour and industry:

• Economic Indicators
• Social Trends
• Industry Overview
• Education
• Australian Year Books
• Topics @ a glance
• Australian Census Information

The following pages can assist you in finding and using data on the ABS website:

• Finding statistics on the ABS website
• Understanding statistical language
• How to cite ABS sources

• Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Data Archive : ATSIDA is a specialised research data management facility for Australian Indigenous research data and is managed by the UTS Library. ATSIDA is a thematic archive within the ADA with its datasets stored securely at the Australian National University's National Computational Infrastructure (NCI).
• Australian Data Archive: The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users.
• Australian Food Statistics: Find data on food processing from raw agricultural product to highly processed food. Hosted by the Department of Agriculture.
• Australian Institute of Family Studies: Facts and figures providing broad trends in Australian families. These trends are primarily based on statistics published by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), though data from major Australian surveys are also used.
• data.gov.au: Australian government resource providing access to and reuse of public datasets from the Australian Government.
• Reserve Bank of Australia: The Reserve Bank of Australia is Australia's central bank. Find Australian exchange rates, interest rates, credit rates, prices and inflation rate data.

• ABS Historical Publications: All Australian Bureau of Statistics publications from 1994 onwards are available full-text on the ABS website. State publications are not included.
• Australian Social Science Data Archive: The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) has entered into an agreement with the Australian Social Science Data Archive to provide historical census data to ASSDA for storage and distribution.
• Convict Records - NSW State Archives & Records: Includes trial and transportation records and information about penal settlements, emancipation, and families of convicts.
• Early Australian Census records - State Library of Victoria: Australian census records from 1788 to 1901