UC Referencing Guide

Note: Artwork can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography.  Use the format below if a note or bibliography entry is required.

Format - First note

     Number. Artist, Title of Work, Year of creation, description of work, Repository, Location, URL

Examples - First note

     1. Claude Monet, Haystacks, Midday, 1890, jpeg image of painting, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, http://artsearch.nga.gov.au/Detail.cfm?IRN=29073&PICTAUS=TRUE

     5. A. Rodin, The Thinker, 1902, bronze and marble sculpture, Musee Rodin, Paris.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Artist, Brief Title of Work.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     3. Monet, Haystacks, Midday.

     7. Rodin, Thinker.

Format - Bibliography

Artist. Title of Work. Year of creation. Description of work. Repository, Location. URL

Examples - Bibliography

Monet, Claude. Haystacks, Midday. 1890. Jpeg image of painting, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra. http://artsearch.nga.gov.au/Detail-LRG.cfm?IRN-29073&View-LRG

Rodin, A. The Thinker. 1902. Bronze and marble sculpture. Musee Rodin, Paris.

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Artwork