UC Library Guides: Health: Nursing & Midwifery

General Health Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text to more than 770 journals in the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Key database for medicine and health research produced by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open access medical database with links to many free online sources. Includes MEDLINE records.
Health & Medical Collection (Proquest Central) This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Informit Health Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Australian research articles, reports and case studies in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health. Coverage: 1977 - present
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 2000 peer-reviewed journals and a range of ebooks.

Other useful databases

Nursing & Allied Health Database (Proquest Central) This link opens in a new window
This database offers coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, PsychInfo is a resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage 1887 - present

Evidence Based Health Resources

In order to make our health promotion and disease prevention strategies more effective we need to get better at using evidence to guide our decisions about interventions (for policy and practice) and to consistently evaluate the effectiveness of interventions in terms of their impact (Vic. Dept of Health website)

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains systematic reviews and index to journal articles in the evidence-based health care area.
PDQ-Evidence This link opens in a new window
PDQ ("Pretty darn quick")-Evidence provides access to systematic reviews of health systems evidence. Links together systematic reviews, overviews of reviews and primary studies.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Pro Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. TRIP Pro also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, and patient information leaflets.
JBI EBP database This link opens in a new window
Evidence–based information and tools for providing the best possible patient care Includes Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, & Technical Reports.
CareSearch palliative care knowledge network This link opens in a new window
Resource of palliative care information and evidence and provides an extensive range of information and links about evidence-based practice in healthcare for health professionals, patients, carers, family, and friends.

Interactive Medical Images

InnerBody This link opens in a new window
Innerbody is an interactive online resource where you can learn all about the anatomy and physiology of the human body.

Standards

ACORN Standards for Perioperative Nursing in Australia

The Standards support Australian perioperative nurses to deliver safe and high-quality evidence-based perioperative care. The Standards also guide Australian perioperative nurses in:

reducing risks to perioperative patients and staff
complying with relevant Australian national, jurisdictional and local accreditation processes as well as legislative and regulatory instruments and requirements
reviewing and improving current perioperative practices.

Clinical Guidelines

Clinical practice guidelines bring together the best available evidence and make recommendations intended to optimise the care of patients. They are informed by a systematic review of evidence, and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options.

Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines portal (NHMRC)
This Clinical Practice Guidelines Portal provides access to clinical practice guidelines produced for Australian practice that have been assessed against criteria modified from the United States National Guidelines Clearinghouse, and adapted to the Australian context
Royal Australian College of General Practitioners Clinical Guidelines
The RACGP produces clinical guidelines on a wide range of topics to assist GPs in their work. Also included are links to externally produced guidelines that are endorsed by the RACGP.

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new window
UK-produced guidelines, advice, quality standards and information services for health, public health and social care. Also contains resources to help maximise use of evidence and guidance.