- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Multidisciplinary. Covers such diverse areas as biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, pharmaceutical sciences, psychology, women's studies and zoology.
- ARCH (Australian Architecture Database) (Informit)
Covers Australian architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. Produced by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council.
Coverage: 1980 - present
- Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) (Informit)
Indexes and abstracts articles on Australia's natural and cultural environment.
Coverage: 1987 - present
A full text archive of journal collections from Arts & Sciences I, II and III collections (arts, humanities and social sciences) as well as access to the field science and health areas through the Life Sciences Collection.
- ICOMOS Database (International Council on Monuments and Sites)
Index to journal articles and book chapters on world heritage. Free website.
- APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text) (Informit)
Australian multidisciplinary database. Index with some full text records covering the areas of business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Coverage: Full text publications: 1995 - present ; Index: 1978 - present
- Trove Newspapers (National Library of Australia)
Historic Australian newspaper articles and government gazettes.
Most coverage is between 1803-1954.
These databases are specialised. The cultural heritage databases above are also great sources of material.
- BlackWords (AustLit)
Records information about the lives and works of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and storytellers and the literary cultures and traditions that formed and influenced them.
- SciFinder - First time user access
NOTE: Use this link to register the first time you use SciFinder.
SciFinder gives access to a collection of chemistry and related science information. You are able to search for substances, reactions, patent and journal references.
- Scifinder - Registered user access
Access to a collection of chemistry and related science information. You are able to search for substances, reactions, patent and journal references.
Academic journals and book chapters in communication, education, library and information management, computing and management.
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost)
Includes full text for more than 1200 journals, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
- Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (MAIS) (Informit)
Index to all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues, includes links to Web-based full text materials.
Coverage: 1988 - present.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
The ScienceDirect Freedom Collection contains over 2000 peer-reviewed journals and a range of ebooks covering the areas of business & economics and the core disciplines of life, physical and social sciences.
Does not support Internet Explorer 8.
Lynda.com is a collection of online training videos. Training topics cover a range of areas including: Microsoft Office software, Study Skills, IT Skills, Business Skills, Audio, Video, and Photography, Art & Design, and more.
Click on Create a Profile and use your UC email address to sign up.
You can use UlrichsWeb to find out if an article comes from a peer reviewed or refereed journal. Click on the link below and search by the journal title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number).
Citation index. Covers scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including arts & humanities.
Does not support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8) or lower.
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index Expanded 1974+, Social Sciences Citation Index 1974+ and Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1975+)
ISI Current Contents Connect
ISI Journal Citation Reports
- Google Scholar
Web search engine for multidisciplinary scholarly literature.
Off campus access: to display links to UC subscriptions in your search results (cookies must be enabled):
Go to Settings
In Library Links type: University of Canberra
Select 'Full-Text @ UC Library'