This is the "Images" page of the "Images" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Images   Tags: architecture, design, health, heritage, images, tourism  

Sources for images and photographs, and information on referencing images
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2016 URL: http://canberra.libguides.com/images Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Images Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using images

Locating images and photographs is an important feature for scholarship.  Search results in many scholarly databases can now be expanded to include photographs or images.

 

Copyright

"Artistic works and images which are embedded in text for the purpose of explaining or illustrating the literary work (incidental artistic works), can be copied along with the text following the guidelines of reasonable portions applicable there..."  Copyright at UC

 

Finding images in UC databases

  • EBSCOhost Image Collection  Icon
    Over 510,000 images relating to people, natural science, places, history, maps and flags
  • JSTOR  Icon
    Fulltext archive journal collection for the arts, humanities and social sciences.
    Search results are separated into tabs named "Articles," and "Images in JSTOR," [results with images where the search term matches image captions]
  • Factiva  Icon  Icon
    Includes an ever-expanding archive of more than two million news photos from Reuters and other sources as far back as the 1980s
    1. From the main Factiva page, click on the Search tab at the upper left.
    2. Click on the Source button (in gray, next to the plus sign, in the center of the screen).
    3. From the Source Category drop-down menu, select Pictures.
    4. Click on Reuters Pictures. (Other sources are Fashion Wire Daily and McClatchy Tribune Photo Service)
    5. Enter search terms and hit the Run Search button.

Searching the Web

  • Google Advanced Image Search  Icon
    Find images from websites. For re-usable images, use the Usage Rights filter & select:

    a) Labelled for reuse - results will only include images labelled with a license that allows you to copy and/or modify the image in ways specified in the license.
    OR

    b) Labelled for reuse with modification - results will only include images labelled with a license that allows you to copy and modify the image in ways specified in the license.

    The usage rights filter shows pages that are either labelled with a Creative Commons license or labelled as being in the public domain. It also shows images labelled with the GNU Free Documentation license. Most licenses require that you give credit to the image creator when reusing an image
  • Creative Commons Search Portal  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Search portal to locate media which may be under creative commons licencing.
    Use the ? icon for instructions.
  • WorldImages  Icon  Icon
    California State University IMAGE Project provides access to over 100,000 historic images for teaching and research. Search by keyword or portfolio (subject grouping).
  • Flickr: Creative Commons  Icon  Icon
    Creative commons subset of the Flickr image and video hosting website. Browse or search through content under each type of CC licence.
  • Wikimedia Commons  Icon  Icon
    A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language
  • Image*After  Icon  Icon
    Searchable collections of images and textures which are available for reuse and modification.

Images Guides on the Web

Images Research Guide (Boatwright Memorial Library)

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip