- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Key database for medicine and health research produced by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Open access medical database with links to many free online sources. Includes MEDLINE records.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Provides full text to more than 770 journals in the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
- PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
Health & life sciences journal collection
- Drug (Informit)
Covers the social, economic, political, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol, tobacco and other drug use and misuse, in an Australian context.
No longer updated.
Coverage: 1974 - February 2014
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
Provides information on topics such as the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- Informit Health Collection (Informit)
Content includes Australian research articles, reports and case studies in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health.
Coverage: 1977 - present
- Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary full text online journal collection.
- Embase (Scopus)
Biomedical and pharmacological citations. All citations in Embase from 1996 onwards are included in Scopus.
- TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Database
Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines and queries. Free version.
- SciFinder - First time user access
NOTE: Use this link to register the first time you use SciFinder.
SciFinder gives access to a collection of chemistry and related science information. You are able to search for substances, reactions, patent and journal references.
- Scifinder - Registered user access
Access to a collection of chemistry and related science information. You are able to search for substances, reactions, patent and journal references.
You can use UlrichsWeb to find out if an article comes from a peer reviewed or refereed journal. Click on the link below and search by the journal title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number).
Citation index. Covers scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including arts & humanities.
Does not support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8) or lower.
- Web of Science
ISI Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index Expanded 1974+, Social Sciences Citation Index 1974+ and Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1975+)
ISI Current Contents Connect
ISI Journal Citation Reports
- Google Scholar
Web search engine for multidisciplinary scholarly literature.
Off campus access: to display links to UC subscriptions in your search results (cookies must be enabled):
Go to Settings
In Library Links type: University of Canberra
Select 'Full-Text @ UC Library'