Call Number: HV8077.5.B56.W66 2007 or click on title for online access
Publication Date: 2007
In Bloodstain Pattern Evidence, the concepts introduced in the author's first book, Blood Dynamics, are updated and applied to provide essential answers in the resolution of actual crimes. The book is accessible to all levels of investigators, regardless of academic background, and allows readers to develop a fundamental understanding of the underlying scientific principles behind bloodstain pattern evidence.
Full-colour resource available for the immediate identification of envenoming species, resultant lesions, clinical outcomes, and recommended treatments. Organized in an easily accessible fashion, the atlas offers general information on poisoning management and antidotes.
This illustrated dictionary contains 12,400 authoritative entries covering all aspects of medical science. The text has been fully revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the very latest in medical knowledge and practice. Entries are accessible and jargon-free and are complemented by over 145 illustrations and diagrams. This brand new edition includes over 450 new entries and features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology (particularly diabetology), and cardiology, amongst other specialist areas.
Counterterrorist Detection Techniques of Explosives covers recent advances in this area of research including vapor and trace detection techniques (chemiluminescence, mass spectrometry, ion mobility spectrometry, electrochemical methods and micromechanical sensors, such as microcantilevers) and bulk detection techniques (neutron techniques, nuclear quadrupole resonance, x-ray diffraction imaging, millimeter-wave imaging, terahertz imaging and laser techniques).
This dictionary covers in over 1,300 entries the key concepts within forensic science, including a wide array of relevant specialist terms from areas such as chemistry, biology, anthropology, art, engineering, firearms, toolmarks, trace evidence, crime scene investigation, case history, biographies of investigators and criminals, as well as forensic computing.
Combining material from the successful Wiley Encyclopedia of Forensic Science with newly commissioned and updated material, the Editors have used their own extensive experience in criminal casework across the world to compile an informative guide that will provide knowledge and thought-provoking articles of interest to anyone involved or interested in the use of DNA in the forensic context.
Call Number: Ebook, also available in print at: RA1228.M65 2010
Publication Date: 2009
Forensic professionals, often working through heavy caseloads, require quick and easy access to reliable sources of information to help interpret toxicology results. While several in-depth resources are available, they are often large, cumbersome, and contain more information than is needed. The Handbook of Forensic Toxicology for Medical Examinersis a concise handbook referencing the most common toxic substances and their levels of toxicity, making it an ideal text for quick confirmation in the field or in the lab. The book begins by explaining the proper selection and submission of specimens for toxicological analysis. It describes the various types of specimens and identifies the cases for which these specimens would be most useful, providing instruction on proper collection. The author then explains the methodology involved in performing the specific tests. Nearly 300 Toxic Substances Discussed The main section of the text consists of an alphabetical listing of nearly 300 toxic substances, including drugs of abuse, poisons, prescription drugs, and over-the-counter medications. For each entry, the book provides the common brand names; classification; half life; volume of distribution; usual dosage; tables of toxicity in various samples, including blood, urine, and tissues; and other important information based on the extensive experience of the author. The text is heavily referenced with materials that are useful for preparation of courtroom testimony, and it contains supplemental appendices with information on acetylcholinesterase inhibitors, drugs that prolong the QT interval, pharmacogenetics, normal laboratory values, and conversion charts. Convenient Format The busy forensic professional needs a concise handbook that provides critical information quickly without the need to wade through extraneous and inconsequential material. This volume offers an easy-to-use format that allows quick access to the most pertinent information, saving time and increasing accuracy.
The third edition of Introduction to Environmental Forensics is a state-of-the-art reference for the practicing environmental forensics consultant, regulator, student, academic, and scientist, with topics including compound-specific isotope analysis (CSIA), advanced multivariate statistical techniques, surrogate approaches for contaminant source identification and age dating, dendroecology, hydrofracking, releases from underground storage tanks and piping, and contaminant-transport modeling for forensic applications. Recognized international forensic scientists were selected to author chapters in their specific areas of expertise and case studies are included to illustrate the application of these methods in actual environmental forensic investigations.
A combination of diverse areas is investigated, including the major disciplines of biology, microbiology, medicine, chemistry, physics, statistics, population genetics, and computer science. Microbial Forensics, Second Edition is fully revised and updated and serves as a complete reference of the discipline. It describes the advances, as well as the challenges and opportunities ahead, and will be integral in applying science to help solve future biocrimes. A collection of microbiology, virology, toxicology and mycology as it relates to forensics, in one reference New and expanded content to include statistical analysis of forensic data and legal admissibility and the standards of evidence, to name a few Includes research information and application of that research to crime scene analysis, which will allow practitioners to understand and apply the knowledge to their practice with ease.