UC Library Guides: Journalism: Web Resources

Professional Associations

Media Entertainment & Arts Alliance
The Alliance is the union and professional organisation covering everyone in the media, entertainment, sports and arts industries. Their website has press releases relating to the Alliance and their work, award & agreement summaries, reports & submissions and more
Australian Press Council
Holds Standards of Practice relating to print media and associated digital outlets; complaints procedures; policies particularly relating to public's access to information and freedom of expression; publications; events, including educational activities for journalism students
Communications and Media Law Association (CAMLA)
CAMLA is aimed at a variety of people interested in law and policy relating to communications and media. Their website contains Communications Law Bulletin (CLB) archives; upcoming and past seminars; membership information and latest news

Australian Government. Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)
Australian Government Publications
Search or browse for current, older and out of print publications, Australian Government gazettes, Australian Government Publishing Services (AGPS) and parliamentary publications and others

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) This link opens in a new window
Australia’s national statistical agency, providing official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.

Journalist's Toolbox : Other Journalism Research Sites
Key Internet links on Communications and Media (Parliamentary Library, Australia)
Consists of Commonwealth Regulatory and Administrative Authorities, other Commonwealth Government organisations, Commonwealth legislation, research sites, key national organisations, overseas government sites

Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
This comprehensive website holds information about the ABC, media releases, various ABC documents including fact sheets, policies, publications, reports, corporate information and more
Australian Centre for Independent Journalism (UTS)
Has information about the ACIJ, news and events, short journalism courses, publications, Project Censored blog and more

Australian Data Archive (ADA) This link opens in a new window
A national service for the collection and preservation of research data relating to social, political and economic affairs. Consists of seven sub archives: Social Science, Historical, Indigenous, Longitudinal, Qualitative, Crime & Justice and International.

Award Winning, Cutting Edge Journalist Blogs
A collection of blogs relating to journalism, ranging from specialised issues to general musings
British Broadcasting Corporation
Internet Sources and Information for Ethical Australian Journalists
Useful source directory where you can find experts, contacts and net-based sources of Australian facts, including business information, cases, databases, directories, government information, legislation, reports, statistics and trade figures
JournalismNet
Investigative guide to the Internet - the best tools, tricks and websites from around the world
KDMC - Knight Digital Media Center
Multimedia and technology training from the Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism
National Press Club of Australia
Website of The National Press Club which is Australia’s most well known institution for informed discussion and debate. Highlights include speaker archive, photographs of political events and journalism awards
NationMaster.com
Central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.

The Conversation This link opens in a new window
The Conversation is a collaboration between editors and academics to provide informed news analysis and commentary that’s free to read and republish.

Theory.org.uk : Media/identity/resources and projects
Eye-catching website about media and creativity in daily life. Has tips for media students, online resources, recommended books and more
wn.com
Delivers breaking news from all over the world in 50 languages, from over 500 media sources.