University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Dictionary / Encyclopedia - Whole

Format

Editor, AA (ed.) Year of publication, Title of work, Publisher, Location.

Editor, AA & Editor, BB (eds) Year of publication, Title of work, Publisher, Location.

Editor, AA (ed.) Year of publication, Title of work, viewed Day Month Year, <http://xxxxx>

Example

VandenBos, GR (ed.) 2007, APA Dictionary of Psychology, American Psychological Association, Washington.

Dictionary / Encyclopedia Entry

General guidelines

If authorship of the entry is not given, provide all the details in the in-text citation only.

... salvation is described in The Encyclopaedia Britannica (2007) as ...

If the author is known use the format below.

Format

Author, AA Year of publication, 'Title of chapter or entry' In A Editor & B Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, Publisher, Location.

Author, AA Year of publication, 'Title of chapter or entry', In A Editor & B Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, Database name.

Author, AA Year of publication, 'Title of chapter or entry', In A Editor & B Editor (eds), Title of book, x edn, viewed Day Month Year, <http://xxxxx>

Example

Arcus, D 2001, 'Attention deficit / hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)', In B Strickland (ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of psychology, 2nd edn, viewed 15 May 2003, <http://www.gale.cengage.com/>

EndNote Reference Type

Dictionary / Encyclopedia, whole - Book, Edited Book or Electronic Book

Dictionary / Encyclopedia entry - Book Section, Electronic Book Section, Dictionary or Encyclopedia

Citing a Source Within a Source

When citing a source you haven't read yourself, but which is referred to in a source you have read.

In-text reference

Lilly (as cited in Maxwell 1999, p.25) stated that '...'

'...' (Schwartz as cited in Burton, Westen & Kowalski 2009, p.63)

Reference list

Maxwell, F 1999, Phonology, Brooks Cole, San Francisco.

Burton L, Westen D & Kowalski R 2009, Psychology, Wiley, Milton, Qld.

No Author / Editor

General guidelines

If there is no author - substitute the title in the position of the author.

Format

Title of work Year of publication, Publisher, Location.

Examples

Macroeconomics, prices and quantities: Essays in memory of Arthur M. Okun 1983, Blackwell, Oxford, England.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

General guidelines

If the location is not known - substitute n.p. in place of the location.

There are no guidelines for citing works with no publisher in the Style Manual: For Authors, Editors and Printers.  It is acceptable in other styles to use the location and date.  Consult your lecturer before citing material without a publisher.

If the date is not known - substitute an approximate date (c. for circa or ? after date) or n.d. in place of the year.

Format - no date

Author, AA c. year, Title of work, Publisher, Location.

Author, AA n.d., Title of work, Publisher, Location.

Author, AA 1943?, Title of work, Publisher, Location.

Examples

Smythe, V c. 2007, Ant colonies: How they communicate, Emu, Canberra.

Browne, JD n.d., Forensic science as a career, Tower, London.