Purchase and/or annual subcription renewal of information resources is completed within the Library Information Resources Budget.
The Library collects book (non-recurrent purchase) information resources by purchase of single items that match the Collection Profile or via the Patron-Driven Acquisition program that provides a range of titles available for short-term use with subsequent purchase based on patron use. New titles are generally purchased in electronic format (e-Book) in preference to print. University staff and students can make recommendations for the purchase of monograph materials that support teaching, and research, via the Suggest a Purchase form. Selection guidelines are included in the Library’s Collection Statement.
The Library subscribes to discipline-specific database and journal (recurrent cost) information resources to support successful course delivery and/or ongoing research. Resources are allocated either a Priority 1 - "Title mandatory for successful course delivery or ongoing research", or Priority 2 - "Title highly-desirable for high quality teaching, learning and scholarship", designation. Priority 1 titles are given preference in purchase and renewal decisions.
University staff can make recommendations for the purchase of databases and journals that support teaching and proposals for new recurrent cost information resources are taken to the Library Collection Development Group for consideration. See the Recurrent Cost New Proposal Template. Subscriptions to these recurrent cost information resources are only approved following completion of a rigorous competitive process. Included, but not limited to in this process are examination of a range of technical, usability and licensing criteria combined with analysis of the publication’s coverage and impact, as well as who will use the nominated title, and a cost-benefit analysis to ensure an ongoing subscription compares favourably with on-demand Document Delivery.
Third-Party Learning Resources are online courseware, not produced in-house, used for teaching students a subject or skill. Proposals for the purchase of TPLRs follow the same process of consideration as database and journal information resources.
Multi-media Information Resources (DVDs, streaming video etc.) may be either recurrent cost or non-recurrent cost. Whenever possible and practical, the Library will purchase new titles in online streaming format in preference to other formats such as DVD, VHS etc. Proposals for the purchase of recurrent-cost Multi-media Information Resources follow the same process of consideration as database and journal information resources.
The Library actively identifies Open Access information resources and aspires to make these resources discoverable via the Library federated search and subject guides.
Discipline-specific recurrent cost information resources are reviewed annually for their relevance to successful course delivery and/or ongoing research, overall cost, and cost per access. See the Recurrent Cost Resource Evaluation Model. Resources that are not cost-effective and not mandatory for teaching and research are recommended for non-renewal.
The Library's print collections are reviewed regularly for a range of factors including but not limited to currency, relevance to the University's course offerings and/or ongoing research, and historic value/uniqueness. Titles no longer meeting collection guidelines are flagged for possible de-selection in consultation with Academic staff.
A list of recurrent-cost resources that are currently allocated to this Faculty is available on request.
The Library aspires to purchase and make the appropriate number of copies of Required and Recommended Texts available in the Short Loan collection as soon as possible after we receive a Unit Reading List Request for the current semester.
Whenever possible and practical, the Library will purchase electronic versions of material in preference to print.
Unit Reading List items that can be made available electronically are added to the Reading List in the Library's digital repository (Leganto). Once readings are ‘activated’ academic staff are able to search, locate and drag across required readings directly into their unit Canvas pages.
The Library can provide access to items not available in its collections via the Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery service.
Costs are debited against the Faculty allocation in the Library Information Resources Budget.