Find these databases and others under the Primary Materials tab of this guide.
UCanFind is NOT able to search within these key legal databases -
Westlaw AU,Westlaw International, HeinOnline, Lexis.com, LexisNexis AU, CCH Australia IntelliConnect, Federal Register of Legislation, Lawlex, Tax and Accounting Online
To find cases, journal articles, or other materials within these databases, you will need to access the databases directly using the below links or the links on the Primary Materials tab of this guide.
- LexisNexis AU (Australia)
Platform for Australian material.
Includes Halsbury's Laws of Australia, CaseBase, Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents and LawNow Legislation.
- LexisNexis Practical Guidance
LexisNexis Practical Guidance provides guidance, primary law, precedents, forms and excerpts from LexisNexis commentary.
The practice area modules available on LexisNexis Practical Guidance for UC Students are:
- Business Law
- Corporations Law
- Employment Law
- Family Law
- CCH IntelliConnect (Wolters Kluwer)
Collection of formerly loose-leaf publications in corporations law, credit, family, tax, trade practices, OH&S, sales, torts...
Includes Australian Master Tax Guide.
- Westlaw AU
Covers case law and journals, legislation and commentaries, encyclopaedias and news, including:
Laws of Australia
Australian Legal Monthly Digest
Principles of the Law of Trusts (Ford & Lee)
Access to U.S., U.K. and other International Primary and Secondary law materials.
See help link (?) for help with finding non-USA content.
- Federal Register of Legislation
Authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them. This website incorporates all content previously published on ComLaw.
- Lawlex Premium
Lawlex provides access to Australian legislation (State & Federal) hosted on selected government Web sites plus links to related material. The database also has search facilities allowing access to bill commencement information, bill tracking and regulatory news bulletins.
In the "University of Canberra Access" box, select: login as the University of Canberra Research User.
- Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters)
(Previously Tax & Accounting Online) Legislation, rulings, commentary, analysis, handbooks, guides, etc of all aspects of tax in Australia.
- Kluwer Arbitration
A resource concerned with international arbitration research. It contains a collection of full text primary materials as well as commentary from expert authors.
- Capital Monitor (Lexis Nexis)
Capital Monitor provides news and information services from a range of resources involved the process of governing Australia. It includes information from Parliament, Government and the Courts, such as press releases, statements, transcripts, reports, legislation, tabled papers, treaties, gazettes, High Court judgments, decisions of the Federal Court and the AAT, and more
- SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) (Informit)
Australian index to journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about copyright and intellectual property.
Coverage: 2000 - present
HeinOnline provides access to almost 50 million pages of legal information.
The collection is mostly international in focus (especially the United States), with access to legal resources such as: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Lib, amongst others.