UC Library Guides: Grey Literature in Health: Online Sources & Directories

Online Sources and Directories

CORE (COnnecting REpositories) (Open University) This link opens in a new window
CORE provides searchable access to millions of research papers from repositories and open access journals. Useful for locating theses and dissertations, reports and conference papers
Global Health Observatory (GHO) data This link opens in a new window
The GHO is the World Health Organisation's gateway to health-related statistics for more than 1000 indicators for its 194 member states. It links to data, reports, statistics, standards and more.
Grey Literature Report This link opens in a new window
The report is a publication produced by The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 - 2016, alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics. As of January 2017 the site is not being updated, but resources are still accessible. Resources are indexed using MeSH.

Grey Matters: A Practical Search Tool for Evidence-Based Medicine
Online resource for gray literature searching provided by Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health.
Includes links to Canadian and international health technology
assessment agencies, regulatory industries, and clinical trial registries.

Health Services Research Projects in Progress (HSRProj) This link opens in a new window
Run by the National Library of Medicine (USA) and provides information about health services research-in-progress before results are available in a published format.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) This link opens in a new window
UK-produced guidelines, advice, quality standards and information services for health, public health and social care. Also contains resources to help maximise use of evidence and guidance
OpenGrey This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with content from a range of European sites with research reports, conference papers, dissertations and other types of grey literature covering science, biomedical science, social science and humanities.
Trove (National Library of Australia) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Trove to locate items held in Australian Libraries. Incorporates the national database of Australian library holdings, historic Australian newspapers and Government Gazettes, archived websites, digitised photographs, and other resources.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The World's largest library catalogue.

World Health Organisation - Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM), which includes the Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR), provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low- and middle- income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources.
World Health Organisation - Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS)
IRIS is the digital library of WHO’s published material and technical information in full text produced since 1948. Its content is freely accessible and searchable in eight languages. With over 200.000 archived items, IRIS offers content from WHO governing bodies, publications, technical documents, guidelines and journal articles.
Open Grey
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.
OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.
Wonder (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research)
Wonder is the online, public health resource and information database of the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), providing access to a wide array of public health data from scientific, academic,
and government sources

Australian Drug Information Network (ADIN) This link opens in a new window
ADIN is a alcohol and drug search directory. It contains information on alcohol, other drugs and mental health, with links to treatment services, research, statistics, guidelines, journals, policy, campaigns, events, curriculum, professional development opportunities and more.
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) This link opens in a new window
The AIHW produces high-quality reports and other information products, on key health and welfare issues in Australia
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) This link opens in a new window
APO specialises in grey literature and provides access to a range of research reports, working papers, discussion papers and statistics for effective public policy debate, decision making and implementation.

PHCRIS Research Profiles
The Primary Health Care Research and Information Service. Activities conducted include an annual Primary Health Care Research Conference, rapid reviews of evidence to support PHC policy and practice and commissioned research in the PHC setting.