How to create a collection (of pages)

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen and then click on Create, then Portfolios.
2. Click Create and then Collection.
3. Write a title in the Collection name section and then click Next: Edit collection pages.
4. Select all the pages you want to add to your collection and then click on Add pages.
5. Use the arrows to organise the order in which you want the pages to appear, OR drag and drop the pages into your preferred order.
6. Click Next: Edit access and choose how to share your portfolio*.
7. Click Save.

*Note: see ‘How to share a page or collection’ for instructions on how to share your portfolio later in the process.

How to open and edit an existing collection (of pages)

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen and then click on Create, then Portfolios.
2. To edit individual pages in the collection, click on the relevant collection title, then click Edit (pencil: ) at the top right of the screen. (Hint: you can navigate to the different pages within the collection by clicking the Next page button (right arrow: ) on the top right of your page, OR by using the dropdown menu option before clicking Edit.)
3. To edit the name of your collection, click on the More options menu icon (three vertical dots: ) at the bottom right of the relevant collection tile on the Portfolios page, then click Edit.
4. To add more or remove pages in your collection, click on the More options menu icon in the bottom right of the relevant collection tile, then click Manage.

How to add text to a page

1. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the text to be displayed on your page.
2. Choose Text from the Content types list.
3. Give your block a title in the Block title section and type your information into the Block content section. (Hint: Type your text in a word processor to help identify errors in your writing and then copy and paste it into Mahara.)
4. Optional: you can type text under the Instructions drop down menu which displays under the retractable Instructions heading at the top of your block.
5. Click Save.

How to add an external video to a page

1. Go to your external video source, e.g. YouTube.
2. Copy the URL or embed code.
3. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the video to be displayed on your page.
4. Click Show more, then choose External media from the Content types list.
5. Give your block a title in the Block title section and paste the video URL/embed code into the URL or embed code section.
6. Click Save.

How to embed a video in a page

1. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the video to be displayed on your page.
2. Click Show more, then choose Embedded media from the Content types list.
3. Give your block a title in the Block title section, then click on the retractable Media menu and either tick the Upload file box then use Choose Files to upload your media in the My files section*, OR select a media file that you have previously uploaded to Mahara from the Home section at the bottom of the page.
4. Click Save.

*Note: following these steps will store your file in Mahara for future use.

How to add an image to a page

1. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the image to be displayed on your page.
2. Choose Image from the Content types list.
3. Give your block a title in the Block title section, then click on the retractable Image menu and either tick the Upload file box then use Choose Files to upload your image in the My files section*, OR select an image that you have previously uploaded to Mahara from the Home section at the bottom of the page.
4. Click Save.

*Note: following these steps will store your file in Mahara for future use.

How to add an image gallery to a page

1. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the gallery to be displayed on your page.
2. Click Show more, then choose Image gallery from the Content types list.
3. Give your block a title in the Block title section, then choose your desired option from the Image selection section.
4. If you pick Choose individual images to display, either tick the Upload file box then use Choose Files to upload your images in the My files section*, OR select images that you have previously uploaded to Mahara from the Home section at the bottom of the page.
5. Choose your desired display method in the Style section.
6. Click Save.

*Note: following these steps will store your file in Mahara for future use.

How to add a file to a page

1. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the file to be displayed on your page.
2. Choose File(s) to download from the Content types list.
3. Give your block a title in the Block title section, then click on the retractable Files menu and either tick the Upload file box then use Choose Files to upload your file in the My files section*, OR select a file that you have previously uploaded to Mahara from the Home section at the bottom of the page.
4. Click Save.

*Note: following these steps will store your file in Mahara for future use.

How to add an external file to a page

1. Go to your external media source, e.g. Facebook or OneDrive.
2. Find the <iframe> Embed code for your external media and copy the code.
3. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the file to be displayed on your page.
4. Click Show more, then choose External media from the Content types list.
5. Give your block a title in the Block title section and paste the Embed code into the URL or embed code section.
6. Click Save.

How to add a folder to a page

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen and then click on Create, then Files.
2. Either tick the Upload file box then use Choose Files to upload your desired files, OR drag and drop your desired files into the Drop files here to upload box.
3. Give your folder a name, then click Create folder.
4. To add files to your folder, scroll down to the Home section and click on the icon to the left of a filename, then drag and drop the file into your folder.
5. Click on the Main menu at the top right of the screen, then click on Create and then Portfolios.
6. Either click on the relevant page title, then click Edit (pencil: ) at the top right of the screen, OR click on the More options menu icon (three vertical dots: ) in the bottom right of the relevant page tile, then click Edit.
7. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the folder to be displayed on your page.
8. Choose Folder from the Content types list.
9. Give your block a title in the Block title section, then click on the retractable Folders menu and click the tick () to the right of your folder’s name.
10. Click Save.

How to display a PDF on a page

1. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the file to be displayed on your page.
2. Click Show more, then choose PDF from the Content types list.
3. Give your block a title in the Block title section, then click on the retractable File menu and either tick the Upload file box then use Choose Files to upload your PDF in the My files section*, OR select a PDF that you have previously uploaded to Mahara from the Home section at the bottom of the page.
4. Click Save.

*Note: following these steps will store your file in Mahara for future use.

How to create a journal and display it on a Mahara page

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen and then click on Create, then Journals.
2. Click on New entry and type a title in the Title section and add information in the Entry section. (Hint: Type your journal entry in a word processor to help identify errors in your writing and then copy and paste it into Mahara.)
3. When finished, click Save entry.
4. Click on the Main menu at the top right of the screen, then click on Create and then Portfolios.
5. Either click on the relevant page title, then click Edit (pencil: ) at the top right of the screen, OR click on the More options menu icon (three vertical dots: ) in the bottom right of the relevant page tile, then click Edit.
6. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the journal to be displayed on your page.
7. From the Content types list, click Journal to add all your entries at once, OR Journal entry to display one entry at a time.
8. Select which journal, or journal entries, you want on your page.
9. Give your block a title in the Block title section and click Save.

How to create a résumé and display it on a Mahara page

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen and then click on Create, then Résumé.
2. Type your information into the relevant sections and click Save when finished.
3. Click on the Main menu at the top right of the screen, then click on Create and then Portfolios.
4. Either click on the relevant page title, then click Edit (pencil: ) at the top right of the screen, OR click on the More options menu icon (three vertical dots: ) in the bottom right of the relevant page tile, then click Edit.
5. Click and drag the plus sign () at the top right of the screen to place a new block where you want the résumé to be displayed on your page.
6. From the Content types list, click My entire résumé to add all your entries at once, OR One résumé field to display one entry at a time.
7. Give your block a title in the Block title section and click Save.

How to create groups for collaboration online

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen, then click on Engage and then Groups.
2. Click on Create Group and type a title in the Group name section.
3. Click Save group.
4. To invite users to join your group, click on the Members section, then Send multiple invitations at once.
5. Search for individual names using Send invitations and Potential members, click on their name and then click on the right-facing arrow () to add them to the Users to be invited list.
6. Click Submit when done.

How to share a page or collection

Note: when creating a collection, you can edit access to your portfolio as the last step in the process (see ‘How to create a collection’).

Option 1: Create a secret URL

1. Navigate to Portfolios then click the Manage sharing button (padlock: ) for the relevant page or collection and select Secret URL.
2. Click New secret URL.
3. Copy the URL and send it to the person you wish to access your ePortfolio.

OR

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen and then click on Share, then Shared by me.
2. Next to the collection or page that you want to share, click on the Edit secret URL access button (sphere: ).
3. Click on New secret URL.
4. Copy the URL and send it to the person you wish to access your ePortfolio.

Option 2: Edit access for a specific user or group

1. Navigate to Portfolios then click the Manage sharing button (padlock: ) for the relevant page or collection and select Manage access (three connected dots: ).
2. Click Manage sharing.
3. Click the Share with dropdown menu and select the group you wish to share your portfolio with, OR select Person and search for a specific user in the Search box.

OR

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen and then click on Share, then Shared by me.
2. Next to the collection or page that you want to share, click Share (three connected dots: ), then click the Share with dropdown menu.
3. Select the group you wish to share your portfolio with, OR select Person and search for a specific user in the Search box.
4. Edit their access period by selecting a start and end date in the From and To areas, OR just click Save.

How to add/delete files* to be stored in Mahara

1. Click on the Main menu (three horizontal lines: ) at the top right of the screen and then click on Create, then Files.
2. To add files, either tick the Upload file box then use Choose Files to upload your desired files, OR drag and drop your desired files into the Drop files here to upload box.
3. To delete files, find the item that you want to delete, then click the rubbish bin () at the right end of the row.

*Note: if you only delete a file from your ePortfolio it is still stored in Mahara in the Files area until the above steps to delete a file are followed.

More help

If you require more assistance with ePortfolio (Mahara) or help with troubleshooting, please visit the ASK Advisors, or consult a Learning Advisor during a Drop-in Study Help session. Information about these services can be found on the Study Skills website: http://www.canberra.edu.au/studyskills