What is it?

According to the Mahara User Manual (2018), “SmartEvidence allows you to work with competency frameworks [e.g. Australian Professional Standards for Teachers] in Mahara and associate them automatically with an evidence map for a visualisation of the competencies already gained, in progress, and not yet started.”

Mahara User Manual. (2018). Retrieved from https://manual.mahara.org/en/16.10/portfolio/smartevidence.htmlLinks to an external site.

How to add the SmartEvidence framework to a Mahara ePortfolio:

The SE framework can only be added when creating a collection, therefore you must have created at least one page to add to this collection prior to using the framework.

When creating a collection

1. Click on the Main menu () and then click Create, then Pages and collections.
2. Click on Add, then Collection.
3. Write a title in the Collection name
4. Select the appropriate competency framework from the SmartEvidence framework dropdown menu. The SmartEvidence map will become the first page of the collection.
5. Click Next: Edit collection pages.
6. Select all the pages you want to add to your collection and then click on Add pages.
7. Use the arrows to organise the order in which you want the pages to appear.
8. Click Done when finished.

When adding to an existing collection

1. Click on the Main menu () and then click Create, then Pages and collections.
2. Click on the More options () menu icon in the bottom right of the relevant collection tile, then click Edit.
3. Select the appropriate competency framework from the SmartEvidence framework dropdown menu. The SmartEvidence map will become the first page of the collection.
4. Click Save when finished.

How to add evidence against the competency framework:

There are two ways to use the SmartEvidence framework after you have added it to your collection.

Using the SmartEvidence map

1. Click on the grey dot () which corresponds to the desired standard and the page where the evidence will be displayed.
2. Add your evidence in the Annotation Once you have entered your evidence, the dot will turn into a circle ( ) to indicate the page and its evidence are ready to be assessed against the selected standard.
3. Click Save when finished.

Using the Annotations block in a page

1. Navigate to the Mahara page where you want your evidence for a particular standard to be displayed.
2. Click Edit () at the top right of the screen.
3. Click on the plus sign at the top right of the screen () and drag the new block to where you want the text displayed on your page.
4. Choose Annotation from the Content types
5. Add your evidence in the Annotation
6. Choose which standard you want your evidence to address using the Standard dropdown menu.
7. Click Save when finished.