University of Canberra
Skip to Main Content

Information for Researchers

This guide contains information about services and resources specifically for academic researchers and postgraduates at University of Canberra.

Keeping up-to-date

Keeping up-to-date or staying current in your field is becoming increasingly difficult due to an explosion of information and tools available.

Alerts

Alerts notify you by e-mail or RSS feed of new records that are added to a database that match search terms you have specified. You can create as many alerts as you can manage.

There are three types of Alert:

  • Search Alerts
  • Citation Alerts
  • Table of Contents (TOC Alerts)

To create alerts, you must first sign in or register with on the database's website. This is a free service and involves creating a password to access your alert account.

Discussion lists, groups and e-mail lists

You can also join discussion lists, groups or email lists related to your area of interest. For example Google Groups

Journal Table of Contents (TOC) alerts

Stay up to date with journals of interest to you with Table of Contents Alerts (TOC).

You can set up TOC alerts in most databases. If you need help, contact your Liaison Librarian.

Google Scholar search and citation alerts

You can set up Search Alerts and Citation Alerts in Google Scholar.

1. Search Alert

  • Conduct your search.
  • At search results screen, click on Create Alert.
  • Put in your email and determine how many results you want.
  • Click on Create Alert.

2. Citation Alert

  • Conduct your search.
  • Identify the article that you want to monitor and be notified when another article cites it.
  • Click on Cited by .... link under the article.
  • Now you see all the articles citing your article.
  • Click on Create Alert.
  • Put in your email and determine how many results you want.
  • Click on Create Alert.

Journal citations alerts

Email notification is sent when nominated articles are cited by another article. Available from Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar.

Creating alerts for Scopus and Web of Science

Scopus 
This short video will assist in creating an alert for Scopus. 

Web of Science 
This short video will assist in creating an alert for Web of Science.

Web page changes

These sites enable you to track webpages or sites to notify you of any changes that you are monitoring. 

TrackEngine 
visualping 
WatchThatPage 

Social Media

Twitter 

Depending on the topic or subject area, social media such as Twitter can be used to follow people, organizations and groups that are of interest to you. 

Database Search alerts

You can use a database alerting service to save a search as an alert. The alert automatically searches the database for the latest records matching your saved searches. The database will then send you updated relevant results by e-mail or RSS feed. Usually, you need to create an account in the database to be able to set up alerts. This is free.

Although different databases will have different procedures for setting up search alerts, the general principles are same. You must:

  1. Enter the search term or query that you want to receive an alert for

  2. Save the search as an alert

  3. Name the alert and select alert option (e.g. email alert)

  4. Choose alert notification frequency (e.g. receive weekly or monthly alerts)

Search alerts

  1. Make sure you are signed In to Library Search
  2. Click the Favorites (pin) icon at top right. You will see My Favorites page. 
  3. Select Saved Searches. Choose icons for RSS Feeds and/or Alerts to set them up.

Alerts run your query automatically at scheduled timed and send you new results via email.

RSS feeds are also used to notify you of new items found by the query. All you need is to have an RSS reader installed on your computer.

New titles added to UC Library

Perform a search and limit your results to New items.