UC Library Guides: Law: Find Secondary sources on the Web

Journals/Commentaries on the Web

Find journal articles, commentaries about the Law from the High Court, Law Associations, Parliamentary Library, and Law agencies that deal with the Law.

AUSTLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legislation, court decisions and legal resources.
Free resource.

Jade This link opens in a new window
Free legal database that collects the recent decisions of selected Australian Courts and Tribunals. Current law students may register for a free premium subscription.

Law & Justice Foundation of New South Wales
e.g. search for papers/speeches by Kirby J
Parliament of New South Wales. Research Papers
Parliament of Australia. Senate Committees

WorldLII This link opens in a new window
Find courts and case law by country, as well as International courts and tribunals. Free website.

JURIST (Legal News and Research, University of Pittsburgh - School of Law)
Covers both US and International Legal News.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell University Law School)
Covers both US and International Law

Open Access Resources

Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII law journals)

The Australasian Legal Scholarship Library aims to provide a comprehensive search facility for all academic law journals in Australia and New Zealand. Currently, over 45 law journals can be searched with more journals are being added.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Journal of Open Access to Law (JOAL)

An open-access, peer-reviewed journal for the promotion of international research on the topic of open access to law. JOAL provides an international forum for academic researchers as well as for practitioners of open legal publishing.

Law Review Commons

Brings together a growing collection of law reviews and legal journals in an easily browsable and searchable format. It contains both current issues and archival content spanning over 100 years.

One to 100
The ‘One to 100 Project’ is a BarNet initiative which entails the archival-quality high-resolution scanning of the first 100 Commonwealth Law Reports in their entirety (1905 to 1959). Details about the One to 100 project and are available at this link.

SSRN : Legal Scholarship Network

The LSN is a sub-group of SSRN. Working papers and articles are uploaded by law schools and made available in either full-text or include just the abstract.