University of Canberra
Skip to main content

Law

This guide provides you with links to online resources for Law

Why can't I just Google it?

Many legal sources are not included in the data accessed by Google or Google Scholar.  As Google doesn't measure up to the quality and currency that can be obtained from specialist legal databases, it  should rarely be used when searching for legal information.

This short video from RMIT Library explains in more detail why legal research on platforms such as Google should be restricted. 

Key Australian Databases

Please note Library Search is NOT able to search within the majority of  legal databases.

To find cases, journal articles, or other materials within these databases, you will need to access the databases directly using the links below . 

Self Help Tools

These short videos will assist in conducting effective searching of the listed databases.

Get access to free subscription to Jade Professional

Jade offers a paid subscription service called Jade Professional which provides these additional premium features  to complement the free legal information available in the free version of JADE. eg. visualisation and analysis tools, dynamic case law annotations, email alerts, document checking to confirm and analyse citations, and the ability to share and collaborate online. 

University of Canberra law students and staff are eligible for a free subscription. Email  help@jade.io using the UC email account  to request access.

If you have any problems please email LibraryLiaison@canberra.edu.au