UC Library Guides: Law: Key International Databases

Why can't I just Google it?

Many legal sources are not included in the data accessed by Google or Google Scholar. As Google doesn't measure up to the quality and currency that can be obtained from specialist legal databases, it should rarely be used when searching for legal information.

This short video from RMIT Library explains in more detail why legal research on platforms such as Google should be restricted.

Key International Databases

Please note Library Search is NOT able to search within the majority of legal databases.

To find cases, journal articles, or other materials within these databases, you will need to access the databases directly using the links below.

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to U.S., U.K. and other International Primary and Secondary law materials.
Please use your UC ID number as client ID when logging in for the first time.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline provides access to almost 50 million pages of legal information. The collection is mostly international in focus (especially US), with access to legal resources such as: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Lib, amongst others.

Criminal Justice Database (Proquest Central) This link opens in a new window
Contains International research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications as well as litigation and crime trends.
Coverage: 1981 - Present

ICLR.4 (Incorporated Council of Law Reporting) This link opens in a new window
ICLR.4 is a legal online research platform that provides access to every case published by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales together with an archive of unreported case law and citator information.