University of Canberra
Skip to Main Content

Literature Reviews for the Health Sciences: Reference Management Software

This guide will show you how and where to find the material for a literature review

Bibliographic or Reference Management Software - Introduction

Reference management software, citation management software, or bibliographic management software is software for scholars and authors to use for recording and utilising bibliographic citations (references). Once a citation has been recorded, it can be used time and again in generating in-text citations and bibliographies (1)

When choosing reference management software there's no right or wrong software. Each one will have its own set of features, functions and cost structure, and of course, all come with their own pros and cons.

The 3 most common programs are Endnote, Mendeley and Zotero. this guide will look at each one to assist you in choosing the right one for you.

Common features of reference management software:

  • Store references in a searchable database
  • Attach PDFs and other files 
  • Auto-generate citations and bibliographies/ reference lists in your document
  • Share collections of references with others
  • Sync your references across multiple devices (2)

Endnote

Website

UC Endnote Guide: https://canberra.libguides.com/endnote

UC Library Endnote training video: https://uclearn.canberra.edu.au/courses/8304/pages/endnote-20-basic-for-hdr-students-windows 

Endnote training video library: https://videos.webofsciencegroup.com/categories/endnote
Cost
  • Free for UC staff and students

 

Zotero

Website https://www.zotero.org/
Cost
  • Zotero is free to download and use with unlimited storage in the desktop account.
  • 300MB (approx 100 PDFs)  of cloud storage is included free for storing/sharing resources
  • If you require more cloud storage Zotero has 3 tiers of plans ranging from USD$20/year for 2 GB - USD$120/year for unlimited storage - https://www.zotero.org/storage

 

Mendeley

Website https://www.mendeley.com/download-desktop-new/
Cost
  • Mendeley is free to download and use.
  • Initially you are assigned 2GB of free storage; this storage is used for your entire Mendeley library and will allow you to store approximately 700-800 articles.
  • If you require more storage Mendeley Premium has 3 tiers of storage plans. Prices range from USD$55/year for 5 GB to USD$165/year to unlimited storage. 

 

Quick Comparison Chart

Introduction to Endnote 20

Introduction to Zotero

Introduction to Mendeley

Everything you need to know about Endnote, Mendeley & Zotero

References

(1)  Wikipedia - Reference Management software, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reference_management_software 

(2)  University of Melbourne Reference Management Software subject guide: https://unimelb.libguides.com/c.php?g=921868&p=6652208 

(3) Adapted from University of Melbourne “Managing References” LibGuide: https://unimelb.libguides.com/c.php?g=921868&p=6652209#s-lg-box-wrapper-24845113

Manage Citations with Zotero, Mendeley and Endnote, Portland State University Subject Guide: https://guides.library.pdx.edu/c.php?g=474937&p=3249933