UC Library Guides: Open Access Toolkit: Open Access Repositories

Subject Repositories

Subject repositories are digital collections of the research outputs within particular subject areas or disciplines, developed specifically to meet the needs of these communities.

Research publications included in subject repositories may or may not be peer-reviewed
The research publications in most subject repositories are distributed globally and searchable on the Web

Examples of Subject Repositories:

Open Access Directory (OAD) - Subject Repositories This link opens in a new window
List of Open Access subject repositories
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access to over one million academic articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
Open Science Directory This link opens in a new window
Directory which provides access to over 13000 scientific journals, indexed from DOAJ, eJDS, BioMed Central, HighWire Press and others.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Library of over 700,000 research papers across 30 disciplines.
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) This link opens in a new window
Index to publishing in economics and related sciences created by hundreds of volunteers worldwide.
CogPrints This link opens in a new window
Online repository for self-archived papers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of computer science, philosophy and biology.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 10,000 academic peer-reviewed ebooks. These books can also be found in the Library Catalogue.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) This link opens in a new window
Free full text quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
Catalogue of millions of records representing open access digital resources which are held in open access collections worldwide.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) (Open University) This link opens in a new window
CORE provides searchable access to millions of research papers from repositories and Open Access journals. Useful for locating theses and dissertations.
Best viewed in Firefox or Chrome browsers
JURN This link opens in a new window
A unique search-engine dedicated to indexing free and open access journals and theses in the arts and humanities, science, biomedical, business and ecology related topics.

Institutional Repositories - increasing visibility & impact of research (video)

Find Institutional Repositories Globally

CORE
Based in the UK, CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for all.

Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
OpenDOAR: the Directory of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new window
An authoritative directory of 2,000 academic open access repositories with freely available academic research information. Each repository has been visited by project staff to give a quality-controlled list of repositories.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) This link opens in a new window
Lists and shows the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Like OpenDOAR, ROAR has an option to search for a particular repository, or for open access content.