UC Library Guides: Statistics: Key Resources: Australian Census

Census of Population and Housing

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) conducts the Census of Population and Housing every five years. The purpose of the Census is to count the number of people in Australia and record their key characteristics (age, country of birth, main language spoken at home, religion, martial status, employment, income and family characteristics) and the dwellings in which they live. It provides valuable data on the Australian way of life and helps government's plan for the future.

The first Australian national census was conducted in 1911. Subsequent census years were 1921, 1933, 1947, 1954, 1961, 1966, 1971, 1976, 1981, 1986, 1991, 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011 and 2016. (Source: 1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2005)

Colonial census material exists for 1834 to 1901 (see below).

Finding Census information

Census of Population and Housing Data (Australian Bureau of Statistics) - Census data for the years 2006, 2001 and 1996.
Australian Data Archive (ADA) - The ADA provides Australian historical and colonial census materials. These census data holdings are in two collections: the Colonial Data Archive (1834-1901), and ABS census table data from 1966 onwards.
Historical Censuses (pre 1996) - Scanned historical national censuses available on the ABS website.
Library catalogue pre 1996 Census search - Search the Library Catalogue for older (pre 1996) census publications held in the Library - results sorted by date with newest first.
Historical Census and Colonial Data Archive (1901 and earlier) - A searchable archive of Australian colonial census publications and reports. Covers colonies: VIC, NSW, QLD, SA, TAS, and WA up to 1901 (after 1901, the next census for Australia was the national census of 1911).