UC Library Guides: Law: Key Australian Resources

Key Australian Databases

Please note Library Search is NOT able to search within the majority of legal databases.

To find cases, journal articles, or other materials within these databases, you will need to access the databases directly using the links below .

Lexis+ (Formerly Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ is the new version of Lexis Advance, incorporating intuitive and powerful AI-features. It is a platform for Australian and New Zealand law material. Includes Halsbury's Laws of Australia, CaseBase, Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents and LawNow Legislation.
Westlaw AU This link opens in a new window
Covers case law and journals, legislation and commentaries, encyclopaedias and news, including: Laws of Australia, Australian Digest, Australian Legal Monthly Digest, Principles of the Law of Trusts (Ford & Lee)
Please use your UC ID number as client ID when logging in for the first time.
AUSTLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
Legislation, court decisions and legal resources.
Free resource.
Jade This link opens in a new window
Free legal database that collects the recent decisions of selected Australian Courts and Tribunals. Current law students may register for a free premium subscription.

Jade offers a paid subscription service called Jade Professional which provides these additional premium features to complement the free legal information available in the free version of JADE. eg. visualisation and analysis tools, dynamic case law annotations, email alerts, document checking to confirm and analyse citations, and the ability to share and collaborate online.

University of Canberra law students and staff are eligible for a free subscription. Email help@jade.io using the UC email account to request access.

Capital Monitor (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
News and information services related to governing Australia. It includes information from Parliament, Government and the Courts, such as press releases, statements, transcripts, reports, legislation, tabled papers, treaties, gazettes, High Court judgments, decisions of the Federal Court and the AAT, and more.
CCH iKnowConnect (previously IntelliConnect (Wolters Kluwer)) This link opens in a new window
Regularly-updated publications in corporations law, credit, family, tax, trade practices, OH&S, sales, torts... Includes Australian Master Tax Guide.
AGIS Plus Text (Attorney-General's Information Service) (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative and peer reviewed legal research from the Australasia and Asia-Pacific regions, indexed by the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department.
Coverage:Full text articles: 1999 - present ; Index: 1975 - present
Federal Register of Legislation This link opens in a new window
Authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents. It contains the full text and details of the lifecycle of individual laws and the relationships between them. This website incorporates all content previously published on ComLaw.
SNIPER (Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Australian index to journal articles, conference papers, and other documents about copyright and intellectual property.
Coverage: 2000 - present