UC Library Guides: Law: Find Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias

Legal Encyclopaedias

Use legal encyclopedias to find background information in an area of law. Information in these encyclopedias include definitions, related legislation and cases which illustrate the 'point of law.'

Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis+)
This legal encyclopedia provides an overview of Australian law. The commentary on principles of law includes references to Australian legislation and cases. Hyperlinks are embedded to LawNow Legislation, Australian Current Law, CaseBase, and numerous case report series providing access to full text judgments.
The Laws of Australia (Westlaw AU)
A legal encyclopaedia of legal principles covering every Australian jurisdiction. It provides references to Australian legislation and cases. Hyperlinks are also embedded giving access to a number of case report series providing access to full text judgments.

Family Violence and Abuse: an encyclopedia of trends, issues, and solutions by Sonia Salari (Editor)
ISBN: 1440871418
Publication Date: 2023-11-01
The SAGE Dictionary of Criminology by Eugene McLaughlin (Editor); John Muncie (Editor)
ISBN: 1412910862
Publication Date: 2005-12-15

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology (ScienceDirect) This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia covers law, legal and policies subject terms related to psychology studies

Legal Forms & Precedents

The Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents is a valuable practice tool offering commentary, precedents and forms across a comprehensive range of non-litigious areas encountered in legal practice. It includes:

over 4200 non-litigious precedents and forms
coverage of more than 90 subject areas, including real and personal property, corporations law and commercial matters
coverage of all Australian jurisdictions
cross-references to statutes and cases
content that is relevant and responsive to changes to the law
frequent updates

Lexis+ (Formerly Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
Lexis+ is the new version of Lexis Advance, incorporating intuitive and powerful AI-features. It is a platform for Australian and New Zealand law material. Includes Halsbury's Laws of Australia, CaseBase, Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents and LawNow Legislation.