UC Library Guides: Science and Technology: Biology

Selected Australian Web Sites

Atlas of Living Australia
National database of Australia's flora and fauna. Collaborative national project that aggregates biodiversity data from multiple sources and makes it available and usable online.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Biological Science Database (Proquest Central)
Provides access to journals covering a wide range of biology-related topics such as environmental studies, biological chemistry & microbiology.
Coverage:1998 – Present
bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
CSIRO Publishing Journals
Full text Australian scientific journals.
CSIRO Research Publications Repository
Records more than 80 years of CSIRO research publications, such as journal articles, conference papers, books, and reports.
JSTOR Complete
A multidisciplinary archive of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
ScienceDirect
Over 2000 peer-reviewed journals and a range of ebooks covering the areas of business & economics and the core disciplines of life, physical and social sciences.

arXiv.org
Open access to over one million academic articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
Emerald Insight
Academic journals and book chapters in communication, education, library and information management, computing and management.
Environmental Abstracts (Informit)
ARCHIVE - NO LONGER UPDATED. Index covers the environment and related fields in Australia.
Coverage 1987 - Oct 2011.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact on the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Reef Knowledge System (Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority).
Evidence-based decisions for a healthy Great Barrier Reef. The Reef Knowledge System aims to provide data and maps to guide Reef management decisions.