UC Library Guides: Open Educational Resources: Science and Technology

Repositories and Text Based Resources

American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) Open Textbook Initiative
Titles are approved by the AIM Editorial Board as suitable for use in traditional university courses
AMSER (Applied Math & Science Education Repository)
A portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use
IntechOpen: Physical Sciences, Engineering and Technology
Over 2400 OER in the areas of engineering, library and information science, physical sciences, maths and information technology
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicines
The National Academies Press publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine. Most are OER
OpenStax - Science
A collection of openly licensed, peer reviewed science textbooks from OpenStax
OpenStax - Math
A collection of openly licensed, peer reviewed math textbooks from OpenStax
MERLOT II Information Technology Community Portal
A collection of IT education resources. Includes textbooks, quizzes, assessment tools and more.
MERLOT II Computer Science Community Portal
Contains an extensive range of computer science education resources (e.g., animations, video lectures, online courses, open textbooks, quizzes and assessments) for teaching/learning computer science
Technology and Engineering Books (DOAB)
Browse a range of technology and engineering books by subtopics including computer science, general technology, general and civic engineering, environmental technology and more
Earth and Environmental Sciences Books (DOAB)
A collection of openly licensed earth and environmental sciences books
e-LiS
An international digital repository for Library and Information Science (LIS)

Interactive Courses, Tutorials, Multimedia and More

Boston University – Physics department HTML5 Simulations
Over 200 simulations mainly aimed at introductory physics
EDinformatics HTML5 Physics Simulations
A collation of simulations from various sources
PhET Interactive Simulations by University of Colorado Boulder
Free interactive math and science simulations based on extensive education research
Engineering Technology – Simulations for Learning
A series of 3D simulations on engineering technology topics
Saylor Academy - Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics Courses
Free and open online courses at the college and professional levels
Vision Learning
Library of peer-reviewed modules, glossary of science terms, and custom courses across STEM disciplines
MIT Open Courseware
A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content
Help Your Math
A volunteer and donation-based open education resource which provides free online math courses
StatsCasts
Narrated screen video recordings of explanations of statistical concepts. From Swinburne University of Technology

nanoHUB This link opens in a new window
Hosts collections of simulation tooks, presentations, animations and teaching materials to support computational nanotechnology research, education, and collaboration.

MathsCasts
Produced by the mathematics support centres at Swinburne (Australia), the University of Limerick (Ireland) and Loughborough University (UK) to support mathematics learning
Physclips
Multimedia introduction to areas of physics. From the University of New South Wales