UC Library Guides: Business, Government &amp; Law: Home

General Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (Proquest Central)
Key database for business, economics and information systems providing access to journal articles, working papers, business and industry news plus country and industry focused reports. Coverage: 1971–present
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database. Over 8500 full text journals (7,300 are peer reviewed) and indexing 13,000 publications.
APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text) (Informit)
Australian multidisciplinary database. Covering the areas of business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
AUSTLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute)
Legislation, court decisions and legal resources.
Free resource.
Business Source Enhanced Searching Interface (EBSCOhost)
Searches Business Source Complete, EconLit, Hospitality & Tourism Index and Regional Business News
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary with coverage of marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, & economics. Content includes books, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Capital Monitor (LexisNexis)
News and information services related to governing Australia. It includes information from Parliament, Government and the Courts, such as press releases, statements, transcripts, reports, legislation, tabled papers, treaties, gazettes, High Court judgments, decisions of the Federal Court and the AAT, and more.
Emerald Insight
Academic journals and book chapters in communication, education, library and information management, computing and management.
Lexis+ (Formerly Lexis Advance)
Lexis+ is the new version of Lexis Advance, incorporating intuitive and powerful AI-features. It is a platform for Australian and New Zealand law material. Includes Halsbury's Laws of Australia, CaseBase, Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents and LawNow Legislation.
OECD iLibrary
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books, and Periodicals in full text. Covers OECD member countries and other major countries.
Proquest Central
ProQuest Central brings together complete databases across major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Index of dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
SAGE Journals
Multidisciplinary database of over 600 full text peer reviewed journals in the areas of communication, education, political science, psychology, science & technology, medicine, health science & nursing.
Statista
Statistics portal that contains over 1 million statistics on more than 80 thousand topics from more than 22,500 sources and 170 different industries
Westlaw AU
Covers case law and journals, legislation and commentaries, encyclopaedias and news, including: Laws of Australia, Australian Digest, Australian Legal Monthly Digest, Principles of the Law of Trusts (Ford & Lee)
Please use your UC ID number as client ID when logging in for the first time.

Scopus
Citation index. Covers scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including arts & humanities.
Does not support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8) or lower.
Web of Science Core Collection
Includes:
Science Citation Index Expanded (1974+)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1974+)
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975+)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990+)
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990+)
Current Chemical Reactions (1985+)
Index Chemicus (1993+)
Google Scholar
Web search engine for multidisciplinary scholarly literature.
To see UC subscriptions in your search results (off campus):
Go to Settings
Library Links - type: UC Library
Select 'Full-text at UC Library'
SAGE Research Methods
Covers all aspects of the design, selection and application of research methodology, with over 100,000 pages from ebooks and journal articles.

For grey literature in law, please visit our Library Law Guide.

Created by the Library @ Western University.CC BY NC SA

AASB (Australian Accounting Standards Board)
Resources provided by the Australian Accounting Standards Board. Free resource.
Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO)
APO specialises in grey literature and provides access to a range of research reports, working papers, discussion papers and statistics for effective public policy debate, decision making and implementation.
AnnualReports.com
Includes PDF annual reports for many Includes Australian Stock Exchange listed and delisted companies back to 1995.
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
Australia’s national statistical agency, providing official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic open access web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access full text for about 60% of the indexed documents.
Giblin Working Papers Database (GIBLIN) (Informit)
Coverage: 1990 - October 2006. Covers Australian economics, econometrics, economic modelling, finance, accounting, banking, international trade, tax, management, marketing and employee relations.
IDEAS
Free database of economics publications.
OECD iLibrary
OECD's Online Library of Statistical Databases, Books, and Periodicals in full text. Covers OECD member countries and other major countries.
OSF Preprints (Open Science Framework)
Full text collection of preprint articles in architecture,humanities, business, economics, education, engineering, law, health, and social sciences.
Preprints: The Multidisciplinary Preprint Platform
Platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs available, including original research articles and reviews. Content on Preprints is not yet peer reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Index of dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
Index to publishing in economics and related sciences created by hundreds of volunteers worldwide.
SocArXiv Preprints
Open access collection of preprint articles in the Arts and Humanities, Education, Law, and the Social and Behavioural Sciences supported by the Centre for Open Science.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)
Library of over 700,000 research papers across 30 disciplines.
Standards Online
Full text access to Australian standards only. Before downloading a Standard:
1. Install the FileOpen Plugin
2. Ensure you have a current PDF Reader. NB: to open downloaded standards with Adobe Acrobat not in a browser, see ? for details.
World Bank
The World Bank provides a comprehensive set of statistical data about development in countries around the globe, covering the areas of health, literacy, environment, industry, economic development, labour market conditions, amongst others.

The Economic Society of Australia (ESA)
provides economic records, economic papers, national publications, state publications, conference papers, etc.
EconStor
Open access documents in Economics and Business Studies
Eurostat
European Union statistics
IMF Publications
published by International Monetary Fund
Office of Financial Research (OFR) Publications
Briefs, reports, discussion papers, viewpoint papers and working papers produced by the Office of Financial Research (OFR) in the U.S. Department of the Treasury
Productivity Commission
Transparency International (Australia)
Wharton Initiative on Financial Policy and Regulation
WIFPR white papers relevance to financial policy and regulation
World Development Indicators
World Bank collection of development indicators

Please visit our Grey Literature Guide for more resources.

A selection of recently published Australian open access textbooks

ClickView Streaming Video
Accounting & Finance
Business Communication
Business Processes & Administration
Business Structures & Types
Corporate & Workplace Culture
Human Resources Management
Law
Management
Marketing & Communications
edX
Non-profit created by founding partners Harvard and MIT. It offers MOOCs and interactive online classes in subjects including law, history, science, engineering, business, social sciences, computer science, public health, and artificial intelligence.

The Concise Encyclopedia of Business Ethics
published by Journal Review Foundation

EBSCOhost (Multiple database collection)
Multidisciplinary collection of databases of journals, chapters, and reports including business, management, health and nursing, education, professional development.
ProQuest (multiple databases)
ScienceDirect
Over 2000 peer-reviewed journals and a range of ebooks covering the areas of business & economics and the core disciplines of life, physical and social sciences.
Taylor & Francis Online
Full text access to UC-subscribed content only. Includes over 30,000 recently published ebooks.
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary full text online journal collection.

UlrichsWeb
Use UlrichsWeb to find out if an article comes from a peer reviewed (refereed) journal. Search by the journal title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number).