UC Library Guides: Health: Home

How to use this guide

This page contains the most commonly used health resources. Select your field of study under 'Discipline Resources' for more specialised resources.

Australian health statistics

ACT Health: Data and research publications.
Australian Bureau of Statistics - Health
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare: Government agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
Department of Health: Research & Statistics: Links to funding, grants, research, statistics and relevant publications that are funded or developed by the Department.
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC): Research funding statistics and data.

International health statistics

World Health Organization: Leading authority on health information and research within the United Nations system.
Global Health Observatory: The World Health Organization's gateway to health-related statistics.
OECD iLibrary: Theme: Social Issues/Migration/Health
The World Bank: Health: Data covering health systems, disease prevention, reproductive health, nutrition, and population dynamics.

General Health Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text to more than 770 journals in the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Key database for medicine and health research produced by the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open access medical database with links to many free online sources. Includes MEDLINE records.
Health & Medical Collection (Proquest Central) This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Informit Health Collection (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Australian research articles, reports and case studies in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health. Coverage: 1977 - present
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 2000 peer-reviewed journals and a range of ebooks.

Researchers' Advanced Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index. Covers scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including arts & humanities.
Does not support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8) or lower.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes: ISI Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index Expanded 1974+, Social Sciences Citation Index 1974+ and Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1975+); ISI Current Contents Connect; ISI Journal Citation Reports; MEDLINE
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Web search engine for multidisciplinary scholarly literature.
To see UC subscriptions in your search results (off campus):
Go to Settings
Library Links - type: UC Library
Select 'Full-text at UC Library'
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of the design, selection and application of research methodology, with over 100,000 pages from ebooks and journal articles.

Content alerts

Read by QxMD

Provides seamless access to the UC Library journal collection via your Smartphone. Set up content alerts by specialty, journal or keyword to filter abstracts drawn from PubMed. Browse and read medical journals with access to full text provided by UC Library. Share articles via email, Facebook and Twitter.

How to get Read by QxMD

Search for "Read by QxMD" in the App Store or Google Play (a web version is also available at https://readbyqxmd.com)
Add University of Canberra to your “Account Settings” under “Institutional Access”
Sign in with your UC Staff/Student ID and password

Health: Home