University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Dictionary / Encyclopedia - Whole

Format - Printed dictionary / encyclopedia

Editor, A. A. (Ed.). (Year of publication). Title of work (Edition). Publisher.

Format - Online dictionary / encyclopedia

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work (Edition). Publisher. DOI or URL

Example

VandenBos, G. R. (Ed.). (2007). APA dictionary of psychology. American Psychological Association.

Dictionary / Encyclopedia Entry

Format - Printed dictionary / encyclopedia entry

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of entry. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds), Title of book (pp. xx-xx). Publisher.

Format - Online dictionary / encyclopedia entry

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of entry. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds), Title of book (pp. xx-xx). Publisher. DOI or URL

Author, A. A. (n.d.). Title of entry. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds), Title of book (pp. xx-xx). Retrieved Month Day, Year, from DOI or URL

Examples

Arcus, D. (2001). Attention deficit / hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). In B. Strickland (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of psychology. Oxford University Press. http://www.oxfordreference.com

Salvation. (1984). In The New encyclopaedia Britannica. Encyclopaedia Britannica.

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Positive transference. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved August 31, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/positive-transference

No Author / Editor

General guidelines

If there is no author - substitute the title in the position of the author.

Format

Title of work. (Year of publication). Publisher. DOI or URL

Example

Macroeconomics, prices and quantities: Essays in memory of Arthur M. Okun. (1983). Blackwell.

No Year

General guidelines

If the date is not known use n.d. in place of the year. If you have an approximate date use the abbreviation ca. (circa) and the approximate year.

Format

Author, A. A. (ca. year). Title of work. Publisher. DOI or URL

Author, A. A. (n.d.). Title of work. Publisher. DOI or URL

Examples

Smythe, V. (ca. 2007). Ant colonies: How they communicate. Emu.

Browne, J. D. (n.d.). Forensic science as a career. Tower.

Citing a Source Within a Source

Secondary source refers to information first reported in another source, the primary source. If it is possible, find the original source and read it, citing the original source.  If this is not possible then use the procedure below.

Provide a reference to the secondary source (the source you read) and, in-text, identify the primary source then write "as cited in" the secondary source that you used.

Format

(Author 1 as cited in Author 2, Year)

Author 1 (as cited in Author 2, Year)

In-text reference

Lilly (as cited in Maxwell, 1999) stated that ...

"..." (Schwartz as cited in Burton, Westen, & Kowalski, 2009, p.63)

Reference list

Maxwell, F. (1999). Phonology. Brooks Cole.

Burton, L., Westen, D., & Kowalski, R. (2009). Psychology. Wiley.

EndNote Reference Type

Dictionary / Encyclopedia, whole - Book, Edited Book or Electronic Book

Dictionary / Encyclopedia entry - Book Section, Electronic Book Section, Dictionary or Encyclopedia