University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Blog - Notes

General guidelines

Blogs are usually cited in Notes only.  A frequently quoted blog may be entered in the Bibliography.  The description 'blog' may be omitted if it is part of the name.

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Post," Title of Blog/Discussion List (blog/discussion list), Month Day, Year of creation, URL

Examples - First note

     4. Brandon Keim, "Id Error Leaves Fish at Edge of Extinction," Wired Science Blog, November 18, 2009, http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2009/11/extinction-error/

     15. Douglas Weidner, "KM Reducing in Popularity," ActKM (discussion list), June 11, 2007, http://actkm.org/mailman/listinfo/actkm_actkm.org

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Post."

Examples - Subsequent notes

     6. Keim, "ID Error".

     28. Weidner, "KM Reducing in Popularity."

Format - Note - Comment on blog post

     Number. Author, Month Day, Year of comment, comment on Author, "Title of Post,"  URL

Example - Note - Comment on blog post

     7. QuantumLo0p, November 19, 2009, comment on B Keim, "Id Error Leaves Fish at Edge of Extinction,"   http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2009/11/extinction-error/

Blog - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. Title of Blog (blog/discussion list). Month Day, Year of creation. URL

Examples - Bibliography

Keim, Brandon. Wired Science Blog. November 18, 2009. http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2009/11/extinction-error/

Weidner, Douglas. ActKM (discussion list). June 11, 2007. http://actkm.org/mailman/listinfo/actkm_actkm.org

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Blog/Discussion List - Blog

YouTube - Online Multimedia (enter full date in Year and description in Label)