University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

General Guidelines

Information about maps can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography (Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed. p.860).

Map - Online - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Cartographer, Title of Map, Year, scale and size, Location, URL

     Number. Description of Map, Web Site, accessed Month Day, Year, URL

Examples - First note

     5. US Geological Survey, California: Yosemite Quadrangle, 1909: repr., 1951, 30 minute series quadrangle, 1:125,000 scale, National Map, Historic Topographic Map Collection, http://national map.gov/

     9. Satellite view of Chicago, Google Earth, accessed April 2, 2016, https://www.google.com/maps/@41.7682665, -87.723154,93759m/data=!3m1!1e3

     21. Hawaii, Blogspot, accessed February 12, 2020, http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-6Ckq2CCag0Q/Tr4plGlC-HI/AAAAAAAACLo/CjKZCLjyAvk/s1600/islands-of-hawaii-map.gif

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, Brief Title of Work.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     36. Hawaii.

     37. Satellite view of Chicago.

     29. US Geological Survey, California.

 

Map - Online - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Cartographer. Title of Map. Year. Scale and size. Location. URL

Description of Map. Web Site. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Examples - Bibliography

Hawaii. Blogspot. Accessed February 12, 2020. http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-6Ckq2CCag0Q/Tr4plGlC-HI/AAAAAAAACLo/CjKZCLjyAvk/s1600/islands-of-hawaii-map.gif

Satellite view of Chicago. Google Earth. Accessed April 2, 2016. https://www.google.com/maps/@41.7682665, -87.723154,93759m/data=!3m1!1e3

US Geological Survey. California: Yosemite Quadrangle. 1909: repr., 1951. 30 minute series quadrangle, 1:125,000 scale. National Map, Historic Topographic Map Collection. http://national map.gov/

Map - Print - Notes

Format - First Note

     Number. Cartographer, Title of Map, Year, scale and size (Location: Publisher, Year of publication).

Examples - First Note

     6. Charles Robert Scrivener and Felix J. Broinowski, Map of Contour Survey of the Site for the Federal Capital of Australia, 1910, ca. 1:9600 scale (Sydney: Dept. of Home Affairs, 1910).

     8. Geoscience Australia [NATMAP], ACT Region, New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory (Canberra: Geoscience Australia, 2004).

Format - Subsequent Note

     Number. Cartographer, Brief Title of Map.

Examples - Subsequent Note

     12. Scrivener and Broinowski, Site for the Federal Capital.

     17. Geoscience Australia, ACT Region.

Map - Print - Bibliography

Format

Cartographer. Title of Map. Year. Scale and size. Location: Publisher, Year of publication.

Examples

Charles Robert Scrivener and Felix J. Broinowski. Map of Contour Survey of the Site for the Federal Capital of Australia. 1910. ca. 1:9600 scale. Sydney: Dept. of Home Affairs, 1910.

Geoscience Australia [NATMAP]. ACT Region, New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory. Canberra: Geoscience Australia, 2004.

Map in a Book - Notes

Format - First Note

     Number. Cartographer, Title of Map, Year, scale and size, in Title of Book (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), figure number.

Example - First Note

     2. Samuel de Champlain, cartographer, Carte geographique de la Nouvelle Franse, 1612, 43 x 76 cm, in The History of Cartography, vol. 3, Cartography in the European Renaissance (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007), fig. 51.3.

Format - Subsequent Notes

     Number. Cartographer, Title of Map.

Example - Subsequent Notes

     4. Champlain, Carte geographique de la Nouvelle Franse.

Map in a Book - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Cartographer. Title of Map. Year. Scale and size. In Title of Book. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. Figure number.

Example - Bibliography

Champlain, Samuel de, cartographer. Carte geographique de la Nouvelle Franse. 1612. 43 x 76 cm. In The History of Cartography. Vol. 3, Cartography in the European Renaissance. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007. Fig. 51.3.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Map (enter map into Type)