University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

TV / Radio Program - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Writer / Presenter, Title of Program, credits, aired Month Day, Year, on Station.

Examples - First note

     3. C. Kimball, Stateline, aired September 4, 2009, on ABC TV

     7. R. Koval, The Book Show, aired November 19, 2009, on ABC Radio National.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Writer / Presenter, Brief Program Title.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     14. Kimball, Stateline.

     20. Koval, Book Show.

TV / Radio Program - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Writer / Presenter. Title of Program. Credits. Aired Month Day, Year, on Station.

Examples - Bibliography

Kimball, C. Stateline. Aired September 4, 2009, on ABC TV.

Koval, R. The Book Show. Aired November 19, 2009, on ABC Radio National.

TV / Radio Program Segment - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Writer / Presenter, "Title of Segment," Title of Program, credits, aired Month Day, Year, on Station.

Example - First note

     3. Adam Shirley, "Surf on Placid Lake," 7:30 ACT, aired November 16, 2012, on ABC TV.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Writer / Presenter, "Brief Title of Segment."

Example - Subsequent notes

     14. Shirley, "Surf on Placid Lake."

TV / Radio Program Segment - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Writer / Presenter. "Title of Segment." Title of Program. Credits. Aired Month Day, Year, on Station.

Example - Bibliography

Shirley, Adam. "Surf on Placid Lake." 7:30 ACT. Aired November 16, 2012, on ABC TV.

TV / Radio Interview - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Interviewee, "Name of Segment," interview by Presenter, Title of Program, Studio, Month Day, Year of broadcast.

Examples - First note

     3. Kevin Rudd, interview by Neil Mitchell, Mornings With Neil Mitchell, Radio 3AW, October 16, 2009.

     7. Raelene Boyle, interview by Andrew Denton, Enough Rope With Andrew Denton, ABC, September 25, 2006.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Interviewee, interview by Presenter.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     6. Rudd, interview by Neil Mitchell.

     10. Boyle, interview by Andrew Denton.

TV / Radio Interview - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Interviewee. "Name of Segment." Interview by Presenter. Title of Program. Studio. Month Day, Year of broadcast.

Examples - Bibliography

Rudd, Kevin. Interview by Neil Mitchell. Mornings With Neil Mitchell. Radio 3AW. October 16, 2009.

Boyle, Raelene. Interview by Andrew Denton. Enough Rope With Andrew Denton. ABC. September 25, 2006.

TV / Radio Episode From a Series - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Writer, Title of Series, season number, episode number, "Title of Episode," credits, Aired Month Day, Year, on Station.

     Number. Writer, Title of Series, season number, episode number, "Title of Episode," credits, (Location: Studio, Year of publication), format.

Example - First note

     4. Robert Brennan and Bruce Geller, Mission Impossible, season 1, episode 3, "Holograms," directed by Kim Manners (USA: Paramount Pictures, 1988), DVD.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Writer, "Brief Title of Episode."

Example - Subsequent notes

     6. Brennan and Geller, "Holograms."

TV / Radio Episode From a Series - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Writer. Title of Series. Season number, Episode number, "Title of Episode."  Credits. Aired Month Day, Year, on Station.

Writer. Title of Series. Season number, Episode number, "Title of Episode."  Credits. Location: Studio, Year of production. Format.

Example - Bibliography

Brennan, Robert, and Bruce Geller. Mission Impossible. Season 1, Episode 3, "Holograms." Directed by Kim Manners. USA: Paramount Pictures, 1988. DVD.

TV / Radio Transcript - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Writer / Presenter, "Title of Segment," Title of Program, credits, aired Month Day, Year, on Station, television/radio program transcript, URL

Examples - First note

     4. S. Mascall, "Are We Hardwired for Creativity?," Innovations, aired February 14, 2005, on ABC Radio Australia, radio program transcript, http://www.abc.net.au/ra/innovations/stories/s1302318.htm

     14. M. McLaughlin, "Cyclone Tracy," Rewind, aired November 7, 2004, on ABC TV, television broadcast transcript.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Writer / Presenter, "Brief Title of Segment."

Examples - Subsequent notes

     7. Mascall, "Are We Hardwired for Creativity?"

     21. McLaughlin, "Cyclone Tracy."

TV / Radio Transcript - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Writer / Presenter. "Title of Segment." Title of Program. Credits. Aired Month Day, Year, on Station. Television/Radio program transcript. URL

Examples - Bibliography

Mascall, S. "Are We Hardwired for Creativity?" Innovations. Aired February 14, 2005, on ABC Radio Australia. Radio program transcript. http://www.abc.net.au/ra/innovations/stories/s1302318.htm

McLaughlin, M. "Cyclone Tracy." Rewind. Aired November 7, 2004, on ABC TV. Television broadcast transcript.

TV / Radio Advertisement - Notes

Note: There are no formal guidelines for advertisements in Chicago 17th ed.  UC will treat them as Television / Radio programs.
Format - First note

     Number. Writer, Title of Work, credits, aired Month Day, Year, on Station, television/radio advertisement.

Example - First note

     2. Beyondblue: Anxiety, produced by Beyondblue, aired November 29, 2009, on WIN TV, television advertisement.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Writer, Brief Title of Work.

Example - Subsequent notes

     14. Beyondblue.

TV / Radio Advertisement - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Writer. Title of Work. Credits. Aired Month Day, Year, on Station. Television/Radio advertisement.

Example - Bibliography

Beyondblue: Anxiety. Produced by Beyondblue. Aired November 29, 2009, on WIN TV. Television advertisement.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Program - Television Episode

Program segment - Film or Broadcast (enter full date in Release Date and nothing in Year, enter network in Medium)

Episode - Television Episode 

Interview - Interview

Transcript - Film or Broadcast (enter full date in Release Date and nothing in Year, enter network in Medium)

Advertisement - Television Episode