University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Music - Print - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, Title of work (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), pages, URL

Examples - First note

     16. Bob Brown, Big Bad Bushranger (Malvern, Australia: Omnibus Books, 2009).

     19. Benny Davis and Harry Akst, Baby Face (n.p.: B&G Akst Publishing and Benny Davis Music, 1978).

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, Brief Title of Work, pages.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     23. Brown, Big Bad Bushranger.

     25. Davis and Akst, Baby Face.

Music - Print - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Examples - Bibliography

Brown, Bob. Big Bad Bushranger. Malvern, Australia: Omnibus Books, 2009.

Davis, Benny, and Harry Akst. Baby Face. N.p.: B&G Akst Publishing and Benny Davis Music, 1978.

Recorded Music - Notes

Format - Track from album - First note

     Number. Composer / Performer, "Title of Track," on Title of Album, Special description, Publisher Catalog Number, Year of release, medium, URL

Format - Song or album only - First note

     Number. Composer / Performer, Title of Song or Album, Special description, Publisher Catalog Number, Year of release, medium, URL

Examples - First note

     3. Paul Kelly, "From Little Things Big Things Grow," on Songs from the South: Paul Kelly's Greatest Hits, Mushroom Records, 1997, CD.

     6. Bernard Fanning, "Wish You Well," on Tea & Sympathy, Dew Process / Universal Music Australia, 2005, CD.

     11. Bernard Fanning, Wish You Well, Dew Process / Universal Music Australia, 2005, MP3, http://itunes.apple.com/au/genre/music/

     16. Split Enz, "Dirty Creature," on Time and Tide, Mushroom Records, 1982, record.

     18. Split Enz, Time and Tide, Mushroom Records, 1982, record.

Format - Track from album - Subsequent notes

     Number. Composer / Performer, "Brief Title of Track."

Format - Song or album only - Subsequent notes

     Number. Composer / Performer, Brief Title of Song or Album.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     5. Kelly, "From Little Things."

     14. Fanning, "Wish You Well."

     15. Fanning, Wish You Well.

     22. Split Enz, "Dirty Creature."

     25. Split Enz, Time and Tide.

Recorded Music - Bibliography

Format - Track from album - Bibliography

Composer / Performer. "Title of track." On Title of Album. Special description. Publisher Catalog Number, Year of release, medium. URL

Format - Song or album only - Bibliography

Composer / Performer. Title of Song or Album. Special description. Publisher Catalog Number, Year of release, medium. URL

Examples - Bibliography

Kelly, Paul. "From Little Things Big Things Grow." On Songs from the South: Paul Kelly's Greatest Hits. Mushroom Records, 1997, CD.

Fanning, Bernard. "Wish You Well." On Tea & Sympathy. Dew Process / Universal Music Australia, 2005, CD.

Fanning, Bernard. Wish You Well. Dew Process / Universal Music Australia, 2005, MP3. http://itunes.apple.com/au/genre/music/

Split Enz. "Dirty Creature." On Time and Tide. Mushroom Records, 1982, record.

Split Enz. Time and Tide. Mushroom Records, 1982, record.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Music print - Book

Music recorded - Music (Enter publisher number into Accession Number, if it is a track on an Album enter Track name in Title and Album in Album Title, if it is full album or song only then enter the album or song title into Album Title)