University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Speech - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Speech," (speech, description of speech, location of speech, Month Day, Year of speech).

Examples - First note

     5. H. Clark, "Prime Minister's 2007 ANZAC Day Message," (speech, ANZAC Day, New Zealand, April 25, 2007).

     14. A Hodson, "Peace in Today's World," (speech, Remembrance Day speech, Australian Veterans Memorial Service, Lightning Ridge, NSW, November 11, 2000)

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Speech."

Examples - Subsequent notes

     8. Clark, "Prime Minister's ANZAC Message."

     17. Hodson, "Peace in Today's World."

Speech - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. "Title of Speech." Speech given at xxxx, Location of speech, Month Day, Year of speech.

Examples - Bibliography

Clark, H. "Prime Minister's 2007 ANZAC Day Message." Speech given at ANZAC Day celebrations, New Zealand, April 25, 2007.

Hodson, A. "Peace in Today's World." Speech given at Remembrance Day celebrations, Australian Veterans Memorial Service, Lightning Ridge, NSW, November 11, 2000.

Speech - Recorded - Notes

Format - First Note

Speaker, "Title of Speech," description of speech, location of speech, Month Day, Year of speech, format, URL

Example - First Note

H. Clark, "Prime Minister's 2007 ANZAC Day Message," ANZAC Day speech, Australian Veterans Memorial Service, Lightning Ridge, NSW, November 11, 2000, VHS video. 

Format - Subsequent Notes

Speaker, "Title of Speech."

Example - Subsequent Notes

H. Clark, "Prime Minister's ANZAC Day Message."

Speech - Recorded - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Speaker. "Title of Speech." Description of speech, location of speech, Month Day, Year of speech. Format. URL

Example - Bibliography

Clark, H. "Prime Minister's 2007 ANZAC Day Message." ANZAC Day speech, Australian Veterans Memorial Service, Lightning Ridge, NSW, November 11, 2000. VHS video.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Conference Paper (enter description and location of speech in Conference Name and Conference Location, enter speech in Type)