University of Canberra
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Referencing Guide

Dictionary / Encyclopedia - Whole

Treat an entire dictionary or encyclopedia as a book.

Format

Number Editor (ed), Title of Work (Brief Publisher, Edition ed, Year of Publication) vol Volume, Pinpoint <http://xxxxx>.

Number Author, Title of Work (Brief Publisher, Edition ed, Year of Publication) vol Volume, Pinpoint <http://xxxxx>.

Example

16 Gary R VandenBos (ed), APA Dictionary of Psychology (American Psychological Association, 2007).

Dictionary / Encyclopedia - Entry

Format - Print

Number Title of Encyclopedia (Edition Number ed, Year of Publication) 'Entry Title' (def Definition Number) Pinpoint.

Format - Online

Number Title of Encyclopedia, vol Volume (online at Day Month Year of viewing) Entry Title' (def Definition Number) Pinpoint <http://xxxxx>.

Examples

7 The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (online at 15 May 2003) 'Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)' [2] <http://ezproxy.canberra.edu.au/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/>.

8 The Macquarie Concise Dictionary (1988) 'Fluoroscope'.

13 Merriam-Webster (online at 1 July 2019) 'Marriage' (def 2).

EndNote Reference Type

Dictionary / Encyclopedia, whole - Book or Edited Book

Dictionary / Encyclopedia entry - Dictionary or Encyclopedia (enter section number and name in Original Title)

Citing a Source Within a Source

When a source is directly quoted in another work enter the reference as:

Full source, quoting Full source

Lorelle Burton, Drew Weston and Robin Kowalski, Psychology (Milton, 2nd ed, 2009), quoting J C Overholser, 'Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia' (2002) 32 Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 125.


When a source is cited (or just mentioned) in another work enter the reference as:

Full source, cited in Full source

G E Schwartz, 'Personality and Health: An Integrative health Science Approach' in VP Makosky (ed), The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol 7 (American Psychological Association, 1987), cited in Lorelle Burton, Drew Weston and Robin Kowalski, Psychology (Milton, 2nd ed, 2009) 576.