University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

General Guidelines

Chicago follows guidelines outlined in The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation for all legal materials.  Examples outlined below are for Australian legislation and case law.  Please consult The Bluebook for other jurisdictions.

Legislation - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Name of Act Year (Jurisdiction) s section (Country abbreviation if not evident) URL

Examples - First note

     7. Trade Practices Act 1974 (Cth), (Austl.) http://www.comlaw.gov.au/

     19. Anti-Discrimination Act 1991 (Qld) s 15 (Austl.).

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Name of Act Year.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     15. Trade Practices Act 1974.

     23. Anti-Discrimination Act 1991.

Legislation - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Name of Act Year (Jurisdiction) s section (Country abbreviation if not evident) URL

Examples - Bibliography

Anti-Discrimination Act 1991 (Qld) s 15 (Austl.).

Trade Practices Act 1974 (Cth) (Austl.) http://www.comlaw.gov.au/

Case Law - Reported - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Name v. Name (Year reported) Volume Reporter abbreviation Starting page (Country abbreviation if not evident) URL

     NumberName v. Name [Year of Volume] Reporter abbreviation Starting page (Country abbreviation if not evident) URL

Example - First note

     13. Mace v. Murray (1955) 92 CLR 370 (Austl.).

     16. GA v. Dep't of Educ & Training [2004] NSWADT 2 (Austl.).

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Name v. Name.

Example - Subsequent notes

     17. Mace v. Murray.

     21. GA v. Dep't of Educ & Training.

Case Law - Reported - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Name v. Name (Year reported) Volume Reporter abbreviation Starting page (Country abbreviation if not evident) URL

Name v. Name [Year of Volume] Reporter abbreviation Starting page (Country abbreviation if not evident) URL

Example - Bibliography

GA v. Dep't of Educ & Training [2004] NSWADT 2 (Austl.).

Mace v. Murray (1955) 92 CLR 370 (Austl.).

Case Law - Unreported - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Name v. Name [Year of decision] Court abbreviation Decision number (Day Month Year of decision) (Country abbreviation if not evident).

     Number. Name v. Name (Unreported, Court Name, Name of Judge, Day Month Year of decision) (Country abbreviation, if not evident).

Example - First note

     12. Glass v. Commonwealth of Australia [2003] ACTCA 8 (31 March 2003).

     15. SZQM v. Minister for Immigration and Citizenship [2013] FCA 5 (15 January 2013) (Austl.).

     21. Browne v Dunne (Unreported, Supreme Court of Queensland, Bland J, 22 July 1999) (Austl.).

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Name v. Name.

Example - Subsequent notes

     19. Glass v. Commonwealth of Australia.

     23. SZQM v. Minister for Immigration and Citizenship.

     24. Browne v Dunne.

Case Law - Unreported - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Name v. Name [Year of decision] Court abbreviation Decision number (Day Month Year of decision) (Country abbreviation if not evident).

Name v. Name (Unreported, Court Name, Name of Judge, Day Month Year of decision) (Country abbreviation, if not evident).

Example - Bibliography

Browne v Dunne (Unreported, Supreme Court of Queensland, Bland J, 22 July 1999) (Austl.)

Glass v. Commonwealth of Australia [2003] ACTCA 8 (31 March 2003).

SZQM v. Minister for Immigration and Citizenship [2013] FCA 5 (15 Janaury 2013) (Austl.).

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Legislation - Statute (enter jurisdiction in Code)

Case - Case (enter reported date in Filed Date and court in Court for reported and Higher Court for unreported cases)