University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Lecture - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Lecture," (lecture, University of Canberra, Month Day or Lecture number, Week number, Year of lecture), URL

Example - First note

     3. Peter Andrews, "What is Fiction?" (lecture, Unit 847 Writing Short Narratives, University of Canberra, Lecture 1, Week 1, 2009), http://learnonline.canberra.edu.au

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Lecture."

Example - Subsequent notes

     7. Andrews, "What is Fiction?"

Lecture - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. "Title of Lecture." Lecture given in Unit number and name, University of Canberra, Month Day or Lecture/Week number, Year of lecture. URL

Example - Bibliography

Andrews, Peter. "What is Fiction?" Lecture given in Unit 847 Writing Short Narratives, University of Canberra, Lecture 1, Week 1, 2009. http://learnonline.canberra.edu.au

Reading Lists - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): page. University of Canberra Reading Lists.

     Number. Author, "Title of Chapter," chap. xx in Title of Book (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), University of Canberra Reading Lists.

     Number. Author, "Title of Chapter," in Title of Book (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), page, University of Canberra Reading Lists.

Examples - First note

     7. A. Rose, "Freedom of Information Under Review," Canberra Bulletin of Public Administration 80 (September 1996): 4, University of Canberra Reading Lists.

     10. A. Wilson, et al., "Presenting and Using the Research Results," chap. 11 in Marketing Research: An Integrated Approach (Frenchs Forest, Australia: Pearson, 2010), University of Canberra Reading Lists.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Article," page.

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Chapter," page.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     9. Rose, "Freedom of Information Under Review," 6.

     13. Wilson, et al., "Presenting and Using the Research Results," 250.

Reading Lists - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): pages. University of Canberra Reading Lists.

Author. "Title of Chapter." Chap. xx in Title of Book. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. University of Canberra Reading Lists.

Author. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, pages. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. University of Canberra Reading Lists.

Examples - Bibliography

Rose, A. "Freedom of Information Under Review." Canberra Bulletin of Public Administration 80 (September 1996): 4-8. University of Canberra Reading Lists.

Wilson, A., R. Johns, K. Miller, and R. Pentecost. "Presenting and Using the Research Results." Chap. 11 in Marketing Research: An Integrated Approach. Frenchs Forest, Australia: Pearson, 2010. University of Canberra Reading Lists.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Lecture - Conference Paper (enter description Type of Work)

Reading Lists - Electronic Book Section or Electronic Article (enter University of Canberra Reading Lists in URL)