University of Canberra
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Referencing Guide

Dictionary / Encyclopedia - Whole

Format - Printed dictionary / encyclopedia

Number. Editor AA, editor. Title of work. Location: Publisher; Year of publication.

Format - Online dictionary / encyclopedia

Number. Editor AA, editor. Title of work [Internet]. Location: Publisher; Year of publication [cited Year Month Day]. Available from: http://xxxxx

Example

7. VandenBos GR, editor. APA dictionary of psychology. Washington: American Psychological Association; 2007.

Dictionary / Encyclopedia Entry - No Author

Format - Printed dictionary / encyclopedia entry

Number. Editor AA, editor. Title of dictionary / encyclopedia. Location: Publisher; Year of publication. Title of entry; p. xx.

Format - Online dictionary / encyclopedia entry

Number. Editor AA, editor. Title of dictionary / encyclopedia [Internet]. Location: Publisher; Year of publication. Title of entry [cited Year Month Day]; p. xx or [about xx screens]. Available from: http://xxxxx

Examples

3. New encyclopaedia Britannica. 15th ed. London: Encyclopaedia Britannica; 1984. Salvation.

7. Gale encyclopedia of psychology [Internet]. Detroit: Gale Group; 2001. Attention deficit / hyperactivity disorder (ADHD); [about 7 screens]. Available from: http://www.oxfordreference.com

Dictionary / Encyclopedia Entry with Author

General guidelines

Entries in a dictionary or encyclopedia with an individual author are treated as 'Contributions to Books'.

Format - Printed dictionary / encyclopedia entry

Number. Author AA. Title of entry. In: Editor A, Editor B, editors. Title of book. Location: Publisher; Year of publication. p. xx-xx.

Format - Online dictionary / encyclopedia entry

Number. Author AA. Title of entry. In: Editor A, Editor B, editors. Title of book [type of medium]. Location: Publisher; Year of publication [cited Year Month Day]. p. xx-xx or [about xx screens]. Available from: Database name.

Number. Author AA. Title of entry. In: Editor A, Editor B, editors. Title of book [type of medium]. Location: Publisher; Year of publication [updated/revised Year Month Day; cited Year Month Day]. p. xx-xx or [about xx screens]. Available from: http://xxxxx

Example

15. Hargreaves AS. Arbroath abbey. In: Cannon J, editor. The Oxford companion to British history [Internet]. Rev. 1st ed. Oxford (GB): Oxford University Press; 2012 [cited 2012 Nov 21]. [about 1 screen]. Available from: Oxford Reference Online.

Relevant Chapter in Citing Medicine

EndNote Reference Type

Dictionary, whole - Book, Edited Book or Electronic Book

Dictionary entry with an author - Book Section

Dictionary entry without an author - Electronic Book Section

Citing a Source Within a Source

When citing a source you haven't read yourself, but which is referred to in a source you have read.

In-text reference

Lilly as cited in Maxwell (3) stated that '...'

Burton (5) quoted Schwartz ...

References

3. Maxwell F. Phonology. San Franisco: Brooks Cole; 1999.

5. Burton L, Westen D, Kowalski R. Psychology. Milton (Australia): Wiley; 2009.

No Author / Editor

If no author or editor is present, start your reference with the Title of the item.

Example

5. Macroeconomics, prices and quantities: essays in memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell; 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If no location is present substitute an inferred place [Chicago?] or the phrase [place unknown].

If no publisher is present substitute the phrase [publisher unknown].

If no year is present substitute an approximate date [1976?] or the phrase [date unknown].

Examples

7. Smythe V. Ant colonies: how they communicate. Canberra: Emu Press; [2007?].

12. Browne JD. Forensic science as a career. London: Tower Publishing; [date unknown].

16. Hawaii [map on the Internet]. [place, publisher, date unknown] [cited 2012 Jul 20]. Available from: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-6Ckq2CCag0Q/Tr4plGlC-HI/AAAAAAAACLo/CjKZCLjyAvk/s1600/islands-of-hawaii-map.gif