University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Thesis - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Work" (type of thesis, University, Year of completion), page, Database or URL (Accession No.).

Examples - First note

     6. Glen Graham Brown, "Towards an In Situ Technique for Investigating the Role Nutrients Play in Epilithon Growth in an Australian Upland Stream" (unpublished doctoral thesis, University of Canberra, 2001), 37.

     14. John McCaffrey, "The Extent to Which Clubs are Perceived as Learning Organisations" (doctoral thesis, University of Canberra, 2008), 24, http://erl.canberra.edu.au/public/adt-AUC20081205.095000/

     17. Alan Brian Socha, "Students' Assessments of Instruction: A Validity Study" (master's thesis, Western Carolina University, 2010), 72, Proquest Dissertations and Thesis (AAT 1462244).

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Work," page.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     9. Brown, "Role Nutrients Play in Epilithon Growth," 54.

     18. McCaffrey, "Clubs Perceived as Learning Organisations," 43.

     23. Socha, "Students' Assessments of Instruction."

Thesis - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. "Title of Work." Type of thesis, University, Year of completion. Database or URL (Accession No.).

Examples - Bibliography

Brown, Glen Graham. "Towards an In Situ Technique for Investigating the Role Nutients Play in Epilithon Growth in an Australian Upland Stream." Unpublished doctoral thesis, University of Canberra, 2001.

McCaffrey, John. "The Extent to Which Clubs are Perceived as Learning Organisations." Doctoral thesis, University of Canberra, 2008. http://erl.canberra.edu.au/public/adt-AUC20081205.095000/

Socha, Alan Brian. "Students' Assessments of Instruction: A Validity Study." Master's thesis, Western Carolina University, 2010. Proquest Dissertations and Thesis (AAT 1462244).

Unpublished Work / Self Citing - Notes

Note: Check with you lecturer first to find out if it is permissible to cite your own work.

 

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Work" (type of work, University, Year of completion), page.

Example - First note

     10. Glen Graham Brown, "Towards an In Situ Technique for Investigating the Role Nutients Play in Epilithon Growth in an Australian Upland Stream" (unpublished manuscript, University of Canberra, 2001), 21.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Work," page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     12. Brown, "Role Nutrients Play in Epilithon Growth," 43.

Unpublished Work / Self Citing - Bibliography

Note: Check with you lecturer first to find out if it is permissible to cite your own work.

 

Format - Bibliography

Author, "Title of Work" Type of work, University, Year of completion.

Example - Bibliography

Brown, Glen Graham. "Towards an In Situ Technique for Investigating the Role Nutients Play in Epilithon Growth in an Australian Upland Stream." Unpublished manuscript, University of Canberra, 2001.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Thesis