University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Web Sites - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Title of Web Site (website), Owner of Site, accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Example - First note

     6. Beyond Blue (website), Beyond Blue, accessed January 24, 2020, http://beyondblue.org.au

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Brief Title of Web Site.

Example - Subsequent notes

     9. Beyond Blue.

Web Site - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Title of Web Site (website). Owner of Site. accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Example - Bibliography

Beyond Blue (website). Beyond Blue. accessed January 24, 2020. http://beyondblue.org.au

Web Documents - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. "Title of Document," version, Author, Web Site Name, last modified or accessed Month Day, Year, URL

Examples - First note

     6. "Reducing Australia's Greenhouse Emissions Factsheet," CSIRO, accessed November 21, 2009, http://www.csiro.au/resources/ps282.html

     7. "Copyright Guide," version 13, University of Canberra, last modified January 22, 2009, http://www.canberra.edu.au/copyright/guide

     15. "Price Incentives and Consumer Payment Behaviour," John Simon, Kylie Smith and Tim West, Reserve Bank of Australia, last modified June, 2009, http://www.rba.gov.au/publications/rdp/2009/2009-04.html

     21. "A Beginner's Guide to Action Research," Bob Dick, Action Research & Action Learning for Community & Organizational Change, accessed November 1, 2012, http://www.aral.com.au/resources/guide.html

     24. "An Introduction to Action Research," Dan MacIsaac, Physics Education at Buffalo State College, accessed November 1, 2012, http://physicsed.buffalostate.edu/danowner/actionrsch.html

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. "Brief Title of Document."

Examples - Subsequent notes

     9. "Reducing Australia's Greenhouse Emissions."

     12. "Copyright Guide."

     19. "Price Incentives and Consumer Payment Behaviour."

     26. "Beginner's Guide to Action Research."

     32. "Introduction to Action Research."

Web Documents - Bibliography

Note: Web site content can often be limited to notes, but a bibliography entry may be included, cited by the owner or sponsor of the site.
Format - Bibliography

Sponsor of site. "Title of Document." Version. Author/s. Last modified or Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Examples - Bibliography

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation. "Reducing Australia's Greenhouse Emissions Factsheet." CSIRO. Accessed November 21, 2009. http://www.csiro.au/resources/ps282.html

Action Research & Action Learning for Community & Organisational Change. "A Beginner's Guide to Action Research." Bob Dick. Accessed November 1, 2012, http://www.aral.com.au/resources/guide.html

Physics Education at Buffalo State College. "An Introduction to Action Research." Dan MacIsaac. Accessed November 1, 2012. http://physicsed.buffalostate.edu/danowner/actionrsch.html

Reserve Bank of Australia. "Price Incentives and Consumer Payment Behaviour." John Simon, Kylie Smith and Tim West. Last modified June, 2009. http://www.rba.gov.au/publications/rdp/2009/2009-04.html

University of Canberra. "Copyright Guide." Version 13. University of Canberra. Last modified January 22, 2009. http://www.canberra.edu.au/copyright/guide

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Web Page