University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

General Guidelines

There is no need include a citation for individual graphs, photos or tables taken from other works. Cite the source item only.

For individual images use the format below.

Picture - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, Title of Work, Year of creation, descriptionPublisher or Repository, Location, URL

Examples - First note

     3. Claude Monet, Haystacks, Midday, 1890, painting, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, http://artsearch.nga.gov.au/Detail-LRG.cfm?IRN=29073&View-LRG

     6. David Jordan, Hawaii's 'Gentle' Volcano More Dangerous Than Thought, 2004, photograph, National Geographic, http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/bigphotos/11587353.html

     9. Christine Barnes, Library at Dawn, 2005, unpublished photograph.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, Brief Title of Work.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     8. Monet, Haystacks, Midday.

     10. Jordan, Hawaii's 'Gentle' Volcano.

     15. Barnes, Library at Dawn.

Picture - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. Title of Work. Year of creation. Description. Publisher or Repository. URL

Examples - Bibliography

Barnes, Christine. Library at Dawn. 2005. Unpublished photograph.

Jordan, David. Hawaii's 'Gentle' Volcano More Dangerous Than Thought. 2004. Photograph. National Geographic. http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/bigphotos/11587353.html

Monet, Claude. Haystacks, Midday. 1890. Painting. National Gallery of Australia. http://artsearch.nga.gov.au/Detail-LRG.cfm?IRN=29073&View-LRG

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Image published - Book or Electronic Book (enter format in Type of Work)

Image unpublished - Unpublished Work (enter description Type of Work)