University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Computer Program - Notes

Note: There are no formal guidelines for Computer Programs in Chicago 17th ed.  UC will treat them as Multimedia items.
Format - First note

     Number. Author, Title of Work, version x (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), description.

Examples - First note

     23. Comprehensive Meta-analysis, version 2 (Englewood, NJ.: Biostat, n.d.), computer software.

     34. EndNote, version X7 for Mac (USA: Thomson Reuters, 2013), computer software for MacOS X 10.6.8 or later.

     36. Rovio Entertainment, Angry Birds Transformers. v. 1.4.25 (Rovio Entertainment, 2014) Android 4.0 or later, Soundtrack by Vince DiCola and Kenny Meriedeth.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, Brief Title of Work.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     48. Comprehensive Meta-analysis.

     51. EndNote.

     53. Rovio Entertainment, Angry Birds Transformers.

Computer Program - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. Title of Work. Version x. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. Description.

Examples - Bibliography

Comprehensive Meta-analysis. Version 2. Englewood, NJ.: Biostat, n.d. Computer software.

EndNote. Version X6 for Mac. USA: Thomson Reuters, 2012. Computer software for MacOS X 10.6.8 or later.

Rovio Entertainment. Angry Birds Transformers. V.1.4.25. Rovio Entertainment, 2014. Android 4.0 or later. Soundtrack by Vince DiCola and Kenny Meriedeth.

CD-ROM - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, Title of Work (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), CD-ROM.

Examples - First note

     9. J. Monaco, How to Read a Film: Multimedia Edition (New York: Harbor Electronic, 2000), CD-ROM.

     13. A House for the Nation: 100 Years of Australia's House of Representatives (Canberra: Dept. of the House of Representatives in Association with the Swish Group, 2001), CD-ROM.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, Brief Title of Work.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     17. Monaco, How to Read a Film.

     23. House for the Nation.

CD-ROM - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. CD-ROM.

Examples - Bibliography

A House for the Nation: 100 Years of Australia's House of Representatives. Canberra: Dept. of the House of Representatives in Association with the Swish Group, 2001. CD-ROM.

Monaco, J. How to Read a Film: Multimedia Edition. New York: Harbor Electronic, 2000. CD-ROM.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Computer program - Computer Program (enter computer software in Description)

CD-ROM - Book (enter CD-ROM in Type of Work)