University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

General Guidelines

Chicago follows guidelines outlined in The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation for all legal materials.  Examples outlined below are for Australian Parliamentary Debates (Hansard).  Please consult The Bluebook for other jurisdictions.

Hansard - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Jurisdiction, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Chamber, Day Month Year of publication, page (full name of speaker and position, if applicable) (Country abbreviation if not evident) URL

Examples - First note

       6. Australian Capital Territory, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Assembly, 4 August 2002, 15.

     14. Commonwealth, Parliamentary Debates, House of Representatives, 2 March 2011 (Austl.) http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Hansard/

     16. Commonwealth, Parliamentary Debates, House of Representatives, 25 June 2008, 5823 (Robert McClelland, Attorney-General)(Austl.).

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Jurisdiction, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Chamber, Year, page.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     12. ACT, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Assembly, 2002, 15.

     19. Cth, Parliamentary Debates, House of Representatives, 2011.

     21. Cth, Parliamentary Debates, House of Representatives, 2008.

Hansard - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Jurisdiction. Parliamentary Debates. Legislative Chamber. Day Month Year of publication. (Full Name of Speaker and Position, if applicable) (Country abbreviation if not evident) URL

Examples - Bibliography

ACT. Parliamentary Debates. Legislative Assembly. 4 August 2002.

Cth. Parliamentary Debates. House of Representatives. 25 June 2008 (Robert McClelland, Attorney-General) (Austl.).

Cth. Parliamentary Debates. House of Representatives. 2 March 2011. http://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Hansard/

EndNote Reference Type

Hearing (enter jurisdiction in Place of Publication and chamber in Legislative Body)

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].