University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Government Documents - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, Title of work, Report number (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), page, DOI or URL

Note: If the country of the government department is clear from the context then it may be omitted from the author.

e.g. Australia. Department of Finance and Administration would become simply Department of Finance and Administration.

Examples - First note

     12. Australian Bureau of Statistics, Australian Social Trends, Cat. No. 4102.0 (Canberra: ABS, 2007), 15.

     15. Department of Finance and Administration, Delivering Australian Government Services: Managing Multiple Channels (Canberra: DOFA, 2006), 39.

     21. Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Families in Australia 2008 (Canberra: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, 2008), 70, http://www.dpmc.gov.au/publications/families/index.cfm#disclaimer

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, Brief Title of Work, page.

Note: Acronyms of organisations can be used in notes if the name is spelled out in full on the first occurrence.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     17. ABS, Australian Social Trends, 32.

     23. DOFA, Delivering Australian Government Services, 46.

     32. Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Families in Australia 2008, 45.

Government Documents - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. Title of Work. Report number. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. DOI or URL

Examples - Bibliography

Australian Bureau of Statistics. Australian Social Trends. Cat. No. 4102.0. Canberra: Australian Bureau of Statistics, 2007.

Department of Finance and Administration. Delivering Australian Government Services: Managing Multiple Channels. Canberra: Department of Finance and Administration, 2006.

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Families in Australia 2008. Canberra: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, 2008. http://www.dpmc.gov.au/publications/families/index.cfm#disclaimer

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Government Document