University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Book Chapter - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Chapter Author, "Title of Section," in Title of Booked. Editor (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), page, DOI or URL

     Number. Chapter Author, "Title of Section," chap. x in Title of Book, ed. Editor (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), DOI or URL

Examples - First note

     5. Michael Fullan, "Leadership for Change," in International Handbook for Educational Leadership and Administration, ed. Kenneth Leithwood, Judith Chapman, David Corson, Philip Hallinger and Ann Hart (New York: Kluwer Academic, 1996), 701.

     8. K. C. Richards, "Views on Globalization," in Australia in a Global World, ed. H. L. Vivaldi (North Ryde, Australia: Century, 1997), 29.

     14. Charles Levin, et al., "Welcoming Big Brother: The Malaise of Confidentiality in the Therapeutic Culture," in Confidential Relationships (Amsterdam: Editions Rodopi BV, 2003), 62, http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?vid=4&hid=11&sid=d2c53277-e3ad-4687-ae4c-48877166f423%40sessionmgr13

     16. "Neglected Global Epidemics: Three Growing Threats," chap 6 in World Health Report 2003: Shaping the Future (Geneva: World Health Organization, 2003), http://www.who.int/whr/2003/en/whr03_en.pdf

     19. Patti Renee Rose, "Cultural Competence and Women of Color," chap 11 in Cultural Competency for Health Administration and Public Health (Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett, 2011).

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Chapter Author, "Brief Title of Section," page.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     15. Fullan, "Leadership for Change," 705.

     21. Richards, "Views on Globalization," 35.

     36. Levin, "Welcoming Big Brother," 75.

     37. "Neglected Global Epidemics," 87.

     40. Rose, "Cultural Competence and Women of Color," 137.

Book Chapter - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Chapter Author. "Title of Section." In Title of Book, edited by Editors, pages. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. DOI or URL

Chapter Author. "Title of Section." Chap. x in Title of Book, edited by Editors. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. DOI or URL

Examples - Bibliography

Fullan, Michael. "Leadership for Change." In International Handbook for Educational Leadership and Administration, edited by Kenneth Leithwood, Judith Chapman, David Corson, Philip Hallinger and Ann Hart, 701-22. New York: Kluwer Academic, 1996.

Levin, Charles, Christine Ury, Christine M. Koggel, and Allanah Furlong. "Welcoming Big Brother: The Malaise of Confidentiality in the Therapeutic Culture." In Confidential Relationships, 61-81. Amsterdam: Editions Rodopi BV, 2003. http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/pdfviewer/pdfviewer?vid=4&hid=11&sid=d2c53277-e3ad-4687-ae4c-48877166f423%40sessionmgr13

Richards, K. C. "Views on Globalization." In Australia in a Global World, edited by H. L. Vivaldi, 29-43. North Ryde, Australia: Century, 1997.

"Neglected Global Epidemics: Three Growing Threats." Chap. 6 in World Health Report 2003: Shaping the Future. Geneva: World Health Organization, 2003. http://www.who.int/whr/2003/en/whr03_en.pdf

Rose, Patti Renee. "Cultural Competence and Women of Color." Chap. 11 in Cultural Competency for Health Administration and Public Health. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett, 2011.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Book Section  or  Electronic Book Section (enter electronic edition in Type of Medium)