University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

General Guidelines

A journal is a scholarly or professional periodical available mainly by subscription.  A magazine is a weekly, monthly or sometimes daily periodical more accessible to general readers through libraries, newsstands or offered online.

One Author - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): page, DOI or URL

Examples - First note

     6. Abdun Noor, "Ethics, Religion and Good Governance," JOAAG: Journal of Administration & Governance 3, no. 2 (2008): 70, http://www.joaag.com/Home_Page.php

     8. A. Jackson, "New Approaches to Drug Therapy," Psychology Today and Tomorrow 27, no. 1 (2007): 55.

     9.  T. Berno, "Social enterprise, sustainability and community in post-earthquake Christchurch: exploring the role of local food systems in building resilience." Journal of Enterprising Communities 11, no. 1 (2017): 149.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Article," page.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     12. Jackson, "New Approaches to Drug Therapy," 57.

     14. Berno, "Social enterprise, sustainability and community," 149.

     19. Noor, "Ethics, Religion and Good Governance," 63.

One Author - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. issue (Month Year of publication): pages. DOI or URL

Examples - Bibliography

Berno, T. "Social enterprise, sustainability and community in post-earthquake Christchurch: exploring the role of local food systems in building resilience." Journal of Enterprising Communities 11, no. 1 (2017): 149-151.

Jackson, A. "New Approaches to Drug Therapy." Psychology Today and Tomorrow 27, no. 1 (2007): 54-9.

Noor, Abdun. "Ethics, Religion and Good Governance." JOAAG: Journal of Administraion & Governance 3, no. 2 (2008): 62-77. http://www.joaag.com/Home_Page.php

Two to Three Authors - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author 1, Author 2 and Author 3, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): pages, DOI or URL

Example - First note

     1. Elizabeth E. Johns and D. J. K. Mewhort, "Test Sequence Priming in Recognition Memory," Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory and Cognition 35 (September 2009): 1166, https://doi.org/10.1037/a0016372

     2. Edith Kramer and Thomas Bloggs, "On Quality in Art and Art Therapy," American Journal of Art Therapy 40 (May 2002): 218.

     13. Magno Ramalho, Graciele Da Silva and Luiz Dias, "Genetic Plant Improvement and Climate Changes," Crop Breeding and Applied Biotechnology 9, no. 2 (2009): 192, http://www.sbmp.org.br/cbab

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author 1, Author 2 and Author 3, "Brief Title of Article," page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     5. Johns and Mewhort, "Recognition Memory," 1170

     7. Kramer and Bloggs, "On Quality in Art and Art Therapy," 220.

     21. Ramalho, Da Silva and Dias, "Genetic Plant Improvement," 189.

Two to Three Authors - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author 1, Author 2 and Author 3. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): pages. DOI or URL

Example - Bibliography

Johns, Elizabeth E., and D. J. K. Mewhort. "Test Sequence Priming in Recognition Memory." Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory and Cognition 35 (September 2009): 1162-74. https://doi.org/10.1037/a0016372

Kramer, Edith, and Thomas Bloggs. "On Quality in Art and Art Therapy." American Journal of Art Therapy 40 (May 2002): 218-22.

Ramalho, Magno, Graciele Da Silva, and Luiz Dias. "Genetic Plant Improvement and Climate Change." Crop Breeding and Applied Biotechnology 9, no. 2 (2009): 189-95. http://www.sbmp.org.br/cbab

Four or More Authors - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author 1, et al., "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): page, DOI or URL

Examples - First note

     13. Anna-Liisa Elo, et al., "Evaluation of an Organizational Stress Management Program in a Municipal Public Works Organization," Journal of Occupational Health Psychology 13 (2008): 15.

     21. Elaine Gluckman, et al., "Family-Directed Umbilical Cord Blood Banking," Haematologica 96 (November 2011): 1705.

     24. A. Restouin et al., "A Simplified, 96-Well-Adapted, ATP Luminescence-Based Motility Assay," BioTechniques 47, no. 4 (2009): 871, http://www.biotechniques.com/BiotechniquesJournal/

     31. Eugenia Kalnay et al., "The NCEP/NCAR 40-year reanalysis project," Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society 77, no. 3 (1996): 437, https://doi.org/fg6rf9

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author 1, et al., "Brief Title of Article," page.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     15. Elo, et al., "Organizational Stress Management Program," 18.

     25. Gluckman et al., "Family-Directed Umbilical Cord Blood Banking," 1700.

     26. Restouin et al., "Motility Assay," 874.

     28. Kalney et al., "NCEP/NCAR 40-year reanalysis project," 439.

Four to Ten Authors - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author 1, Author 2, Author 3, Author 4, Author 5, Author 6, Author 7, Author 8, Author 9 and Author 10. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): pages. DOI or URL

Note: List all authors.

Examples - Bibliography

Elo, Anna-Liisa, Jenni Ervasti, Eeva Kuosma, and Pauliina Mattila. "Evaluation of an Organizational Stress Management Program in a Municipal Public Works Organization." Journal of Occupational Health Psychology 13 (2008): 10-23.

Gluckman, Elaine, Annalisa Ruggeri, Vanderson Rocha, Etienne Baudoux, Michael Boo, Joanne Kurtzberg, Kathy Welte, Cristina Navarrete, and Suzanna M. van Walraven. "Family-Directed Umbilical Cord Blood Banking." Haematologica 96 (November 2011): 1700-1707.

Restouin, A. S. Aresta, T. Prebet, J. Borg, A. Badache, and Y. Collette. "A Simplified, 96-Well-Adapted, ATP Luminescence-based Motility Assay." BioTechniques 47, no. 4 (2009): 871-75. http://www.biotechniques.com/BiotechniquesJournal/

Eleven or More Authors - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author 1, Author 2, Author 3, Author 4, Author 5, Author 6, Author 7 et al. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): pages. DOI or URL.

Note: List the first 7 authors then et al.

Example - Bibliography

Kalnay, E., M. Kanamitsu, R. Kistler, W. Collins, D. Deaven, L. Gandin, M. Iredell  et al. "The NCEP/NCAR 40-year reanalysis project." Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society 77 No. 3 (1996): 437-471. https://doi.org/fg6rf9

Magazine Article - Notes

General guidelines

A Journal is a scholarly or professional periodical usually only available through subscription.  A journal is normally cited by volume and issue.

A Magazine is a periodical more accessible to the general reader and often available at bookstores and newsagencies.  A magazine is usually cited by month and year only.

If in doubt use journal format if a volume is easily located and use magazine if it is not.

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of publication, page, DOI or URL

Example - First note

     6. J. Wychick and L. Thompson, "Fallen for a Scam Lately?," Australia Today, November 24, 2005, 55.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Article," page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     12. Wychick and Thompson, "Fallen for a Scam Lately?," 60.

Magazine Article - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month Day, Year of publication, pages. DOI or URL

Example - Bibliography

Wychick, J., and L. Thompson. "Fallen for a Scam Lately?" Australia Today, November 24, 2005, 54-60.

Book Review in a Journal - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Review," review of Title of Book, by Author of Book, Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): page, DOI or URL

Example - First note

     3. Stephen M. Marson, "How Big Should We Be? A Herculean Task Accomplished," review of Human Body Size and the Laws of Scaling: Physiological, Performance, Growth, Longevity and Ecological Ramification, by T. Samaras, Public Health Nutrition 12 (2009): 1299.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Review," page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     7. Marson, "How Big Should We Be?," 1300.

Book Review in a Journal - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. "Title of Review." Review of Title of Book, by Author of Book. Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (Month Year of publication): pages. DOI or URL

Example - Bibliography

Marson, Stephen M. "How Big Should We Be? A Herculean Task Accomplished." Review of Human Body Size and the Laws of Scaling: Physiological, Performance, Growth, Longevity and Ecological Ramification, by T. Samaras. Public Health Nutrition 12 (2009): 1299-300.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Journal Article or Magazine Article or Electronic Article