University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Podcast - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, Title of Podcast, Month Day, Year of creation, podcast, URL

     Number. Author, "Title of Episode," Month Day, Year of Creation, in Title of Podcast, podcast, URL

     Number. Interviewee, interview by Presenter, Title of Podcast, podcast, Month Day, Year of creation, URL

Example - First note

     7. T. Nolan, AM: News & Current Affairs, April 28, 2007, podcast, http://www.abc.net.au/am/

     8. Mike Danforth and Ian Chillag, "F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points," April 21, 2015, in How to Do Everything, produced by Gillian Donovan, podcast, MP3 audio, 18:46, http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510303/how-to-to-everything

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, Title of Podcast.

     Number. Author, "Title of Episode."

     Number. Interviewee, interview by Presenter.

Example - Subsequent notes

     10. Nolan, AM: News & Current Affairs.

     15. Danforth and Chillag, "F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points."

Podcast - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. Title of Podcast. Month Day, Year of creation. Podcast. URL

Author. "Title of Episode." Month Day, Year of Creation. In Title of Podcast. Podcast. URL

Interviewee. Interview by Presenter. Title of Podcast. Podcast. Month Day, Year of creation. URL

Example - Bibliography

Mike Danforth, and Ian Chillag. "F-Bombs, Chicken, and Exclamation Points." April 21, 2015. In How to Do Everything, produced by Gillian Donovan. Podcast, MP3 audio, 18:46, http://www.npr.org/podcasts/510303/how-to-to-everything

Nolan, T. AM: News & Current Affairs. Podcast audio. April 28, 2007. http://www.abc.net.au/am/

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Interview - Personal Communication (enter interviewee in Author, interviewer in Recipient and podcast audion in Type of Work)

All other podcasts - Online Multimedia (enter full date in Year and podcast audio in Type of Work)