University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Report - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, Title of Work, report number (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), page, DOI or URL

Examples - First note

     9. Local Government Association of South Australia, Local Government's Current and Potential Role in Water Management and Conservation: Final Report, prepared by the South Australian Centre for Economic Studies, SACES (Adelaide: SACES, 2009), 55.

     15. John Simon, Kylie Smith and Tim West, Price Incentives and Consumer Payment Behaviour (n.p.: Reserve Bank of Australia, 2009), http://www.rba.gov.au/publications/rdp/2009/2009-04.html

     17. Physical Habitat Theme Pilot Audit Technical Report, MDBC publication 10/04 (Canberra: Murray-Darling Basin Commission, 2004), 26.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, Brief Title of Work, page.

Examples - Subsequent notes

     33. Local Government Association of South Australia, Local Government's Role in Water Management, 23.

     36. Simon, Smith and West, Price Incentives.

     41. Pilot Audit Technical Report, 35.

Report - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. Title of Work. Report number. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. DOI or URL

Examples - Bibliography

Local Government Association of South Australia. Local Government's Current and Potential Role in Water Management and Conservation: Final Report. Prepared by the South Australian Centre for Economic Studies, SACES. Adelaide: SACES, 2009.

Simon, John, Kylie Smith, and Tim West. Price Incentives and Consumer Payment Behaviour. n.p.: Reserve Bank of Australia, 2009. http://www.rba.gov.au/publications/rdp/2009/2009-04.html

Physical Habitat Theme Pilot Audit Technical Report. MDBC publication 10/04. Canberra: Murray-Darling Basin Commission, 2004.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Report