University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Dictionary / Encyclopedia Entry - Notes

General guidelines

Dictionary / Encyclopedia entries are usually entered as a note with no entry in the bibliography. Substantial entries with an author may be entered in the same format as a chapter in an edited book, and will have an entry in the bibliography.

s.v. means sub verbo or "under the word"

Format - Simple Entry - First note

     Number. Title of Dictionary / Encyclopedia, xx ed. (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), s.v. "Title of Entry," by Author, accessed Month Day, Year, DOI or URL

Note: Well known dictionaries and encyclopedias do not need location, publisher and year details, but the edition must be included.  e.g. Encyclopaedia Britannica, Oxford English Dictionary.

Format - Substantial Entry - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Entry," in Title of Encyclopedia, ed. Editors (Location: Publisher, Year of publication) DOI or URL

Examples - First note

     5. The New Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "salvation."

     8. The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2nd ed., (Detroit: Gale Group, 2001), s.v. "Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)," by D. Arcus, accessed May 15, 2003, http://ezproxy.canberra.edu.au/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/

     11. Richard Middleton, "Lennon, John Ono (1940-1980)," in Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, online ed. (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2011) https://doi.org/10.1093/ref:odnb/31351

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Brief Title of Dictionary / Encyclopedia, s.v. "Brief Title of Entry."

     Number. Author. "Brief Title of Entry."

Examples - Subsequent notes

     7. Encyclopaedia Britannica, s.v. "salvation."

     15. Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, s.v. "ADHD."

     21. Middleton, "Lennon, John Ono"

Dictionary / Encyclopedia Entry - Bibliography

Note

Dictionary / Encyclopedia entries are not entered into the Bibliography.  If several entries are taken from a dictionary / encyclopedia then you may enter the entire encyclopedia as a book.

If a substantial entry with individual author is used it should be treated as a book chapter.

Format - Entire Encyclopedia

Editor. Title of Dictionary / Encyclopedia. xx ed. xx vols. Location: Publisher, Year. DOI or URL

Format - Substantial Entry

Author. "Title of Entry." In Title of Encyclopedia, edited by Editor, pages. Location: Publisher, Year of Publication. DOI or URL

Examples

VandenBos, Gary R. ed. APA Dictionary of Psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2007.

Middleton, Richard. "Lennon, John Ono (1940-1980)." In Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, Online ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2011. https://doi.org/10.1093/ref:odnb/31351

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale Group, 2001. http://ezproxy.canberra.edu.au/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/

The New Encyclopaedia Britannica. 15th ed. 32 vols. Chicago: Encyclopaedia Britannica, 2007. http://www.britannica.com/

 

 

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Dictionary / Encyclopedia, whole - Book, Edited Book or Electronic Book

Dictionary / Encyclopedia short entry with no author - Dictionary

Dictionary / Encyclopedia short entry with author - Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia long entry with author - Book section