University of Canberra
Skip to main content

UC Referencing Guide

Newspaper Article - Notes

Format - First note

     Number. Author, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of publication, DOI or URL

Note: Page numbers are usually omitted.

Examples - First note

     10. "Internet Pioneer to Oversee Network Redesign," The Canberra Times, May 28, 2007.

     14. E. Clark, "Enforcement, Not Shortage of Laws, at the Heart of Spam's Virulent Growth," The Canberra Times, July 13, 2003, http://www.canberratimes.com.au

     19. A. Darby, "Rarest Tiger Skin a Rugged Survivor," Sydney Morning Herald, August 20, 2002, http://www.smh.com.au

     22. Jack Waterford, "Bill of Rights Gets it Wrong," The Canberra Times, May 30, 2007.

Format - Subsequent notes

     Number. Author, "Brief Title of Article."

Examples - Subsequent notes

     13. "Internet Pioneer."

     21. Clark, "Spam's Virulent Growth."

     32. Darby, "Rarest Tiger Skin."

     47. Waterford, "Bill of Rights Gets it Wrong."

Newspaper Article - Bibliography

Format - Bibliography

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Month Day, Year of publication. DOI or URL

Newspaper Title. "Title of Article." Month Day, Year of publication. DOI or URL

Note: For unsigned articles insert the Newspaper Title in place of the Author.

Examples - Bibliography

The Canberra Times. "Internet Pioneer to Oversee Network Redesign." May 28, 2007.

Clark, E. "Enforcement, Not Shortage of Laws, at the Heart of Spam's Virulent Growth." The Canberra Times, July 13, 2003. http://www.canberratimes.com.au

Darby, A. "Rarest Tiger Skin a Rugged Survivor." Sydney Morning Herald, August 20, 2002. http://www.smh.com.au

Waterford, Jack. "Bill of Rights Gets it Wrong." The Canberra Times, May 20, 2007.

No Author / Editor

If the author or editor is unknown, the note or bibliography entry should normally begin with the title.  An initial article is ignored in alphabetising.

Format - First note

     1. Title of Work (Location, Publisher, Year of publication), page, URL

Example - First note

     3. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. (Oxford: Blackwell, 1983), 22.

Format - Subsequent notes

     2. Brief Title of Work, page.

Example - Subsequent notes

     4. Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities, 27.

Format - Bibliography

Title of Work. Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL

Example - Bibliography

Macroeconomics, Prices and Quantities: Essays in Memory of Arthur M. Okun. Oxford: Blackwell, 1983.

No Location / No Publisher / No Year

If the location is unknown, the abbreviation n.p. takes the place of the location.

If the publisher is unknown, just enter the location and date.

If the year is unknown, the abbreviation n.d. or an estimated year in brackets takes the place of the year.

Examples - First note

     5. J. D. Browne, Forensic Science as a Career (London: Tower, n.d.).

     9. V. Smythe, Ant Colonies: How They Communicate (Canberra: Emu, [2007?]).

Examples - Bibliography

Browne, J. D. Forensic Science as a Career. London: Tower, n.d.

Smythe, V. Ant Colonies: How They Communicate. Canberra: Emu, [2007?].

Citing a Source Within a Source

Cite all known details of the original source, then type 'quoted in' and cite details of the source you are viewing.

Examples - First note

     2. G. E. Schwartz, "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach," in The G. Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7, ed. V. P. Makosky (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1987), quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009), 576.

     6. J. C. Overholser, "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia," Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144, quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski, Psychology, 2nd ed. (Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009).

Examples - Subsequent notes

     4. Schwartz, "Personality and Health."

     10. Overholser, "Treatment of Social Phobia."

Examples - Bibliography

Overholser, J. C. "Cognitive-Behavioral Treatment of Social Phobia." Journal of Contemporary Psychotherapy 32 (2002): 125-144. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

Schwartz, G. E. "Personality and Health: An Integrative Health Science Approach." In The G Stanley Hall Lecture Series: Vol. 7. Edited by V. P. Makosky. Washington: American Psychologial Association, 1987. Quoted in Lorelle Burton, Drew Westen and Robin Kowalski. Psychology. 2nd ed. Milton, Australia: Wiley, 2009.

EndNote Reference Type

Newspaper Article